Approved CE Providers

Back to CE Home Page

The RCB does not have a formal continuing education (CE) course approval process in place. Rather, the RCB has established via regulation, the criteria for acceptability of courses and approved providers.

All courses completed must be from an approved provider. The RCB has approved different providers depending on the mode of delivery of the course.

Approved Providers for All Modes of Delivery

All courses provided by or approved to provide by any of the following entities are approved by the RCB.

  1. Any post-secondary institution accredited by a regional accreditation agency or association recognized by the US Department of Education.
  2. A health-care facility licensed by the California Department of Public Health.
  3. The American Association for Respiratory Care.
  4. The California Society for Respiratory Care (and all state societies directly affiliated with the AARC).
  5. The American Medical Association.
  6. The California Medical Association.
  7. The California Thoracic Society.
  8. The American College of Surgeons.
  9. The American College of Chest Physicians.
  10. The American Heart Association.
  11. American Lung Association.
  12. Allergy and Asthma Network.
  13. Society for Critical Care Medicine.
  14. National Asthma Education Certification Board.

Approved Providers for Live, Real-Time Delivery

Courses delivered in Live, Real-Time format by or approved by the following are approved by the RCB.

  1. Any entity identified in numbers 1-14 as Approved Providers for All Modes of Delivery.
  2. The California Board of Registered Nursing.
  3. The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education.