
NEW CONTINUING 
EDUCATION 
REQUIREMENTS 
FOR CALIFORNIA 
LICENSED RESPIRATORY 
CARE PRACTITIONERS 
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2024 



Continuing Education Requirements 
Effective January 1, 2024 
The Respiratory Care Board of California (RCB) has adopted new 
continuing education (CE) requirements in line with its most recent 
workforce study and strategic plan. Currently, respiratory care 
practitioners (RCPs) must complete 30 hours of CE with two-thirds 
(20 hours) directly related to the clinical practice of respiratory care 
every renewal cycle. The new regulations still require 30 total hours 
of CE, but now provide new framework and format requirements. 

All respiratory care 
practitioners (RCPs) in the 
state of California who wish 
to maintain an active license 
must begin earning 30 hours 
of continuing education (CE) 
for license renewal under a 
new CE regulatory framework 
as soon as January 1, 2024 
(see implementation schedule 
for details). 
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New CE Framework 
A total of 30 hours of CE is required every two-year renewal cycle 
as described below: 
At least 25 of the 30 required CE hours shall be completed in the 
following content areas: 

RCP Leadership 

A minimum of 10 hours must be directly related to RCP leadership 
and include: 

•	 Qualified precepting of respiratory care students. 
• Effective communication in health care. 
• Training for educators who provide clinical respiratory care 

practice instruction. 
•	 Training in case management, health care financial 

reimbursement, health care cost containment, or health 
care management. 

• The Law and Professional Ethics course that is required 
every other renewal cycle. 

Respiratory Care Clinical Practice 

A minimum of 15 hours must be directly related to the clinical 
practice of respiratory care and include: 

• Training on the practice of respiratory care. 
• Successful completion of approved credentialing or 

certification examinations. 

The remaining five CE hours may be earned through courses 
that meet the criteria above or courses that are indirectly related 
to the clinical practice of respiratory care including attendance 
at meetings provided by the Respiratory Care Board, California 
Society for Respiratory Care (CSRC), or American Association for 
Respiratory Care (AARC) as designated by and at each provider’s 
discretion. 



Approved Course Providers 
All courses must be provided by or approved by one of the 
following approved providers. The Board has approved different 
providers depending on the mode of delivery of the course. 

Approved Providers for All Modes of Delivery 
1. Any post-secondary institution accredited by a regional 

accreditation agency or association recognized by the 
U.S. Department of Education. 

2. A health care facility licensed by the California Department 
of Public Health. 

3.	 AARC, CSRC, and all state societies directly affiliated 
with AARC. 

4. American Medical Association. 
5. California Medical Association. 
6. California Thoracic Society. 
7. American College of Surgeons. 
8. American College of Chest Physicians. 
9. American Heart Association. 
10. American Lung Association. 
11. Allergy and Asthma Network. 
12. Society for Critical Care Medicine. 
13.	 National Asthma Educator Certification Board. 
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New CE Format 

A minimum of 15 of the 30 required CE hours must be earned from 
live courses or meetings which include:  

In-person lecture educational sessions that are part of 
conventions, courses, seminars, workshops, work site education, 
instructor-led skill days, lecture series, and online meetings with 
participatory interaction between the licensee and the instructor 
via computer networks or the internet such as via webcasts, 
video conferences, and audio conferences in which the licensee 
can directly interact with the instructor in real time during the 
instructional period. 



Approved Providers for Live, Real-Time Delivery 
1. Any entity previously identified in Nos. 1-13 as an approved 

provider for all modes of delivery. 
2. The California Board of Registered Nursing. 
3. The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education. 

Approved Credential Examinations 
The Board will approve 15 hours of CE (toward respiratory 
care clinical practice CE) for the award of any of the following 
credentials after successful completion of the respective 
examination administered by the National Board for Respiratory 
Care. The 15 hours of CE is only approved for initial credentialing: 

• Adult critical care specialist (ACCS). 
•	 Certified pulmonary function technologist (CPFT). 
•	 Registered pulmonary function technologist (RPFT). 
• Neonatal/pediatric specialist (NPS). 
• Sleep disorders specialist (SDS). 
• Asthma educator specialist (AE-C). 
• Registered respiratory therapist (if not required at the time 

of initial licensure). 

Approved Certification Examinations 

The Board will approve 15 hours of CE for each initial certification 
and five hours of CE for each recertification (toward respiratory 
care clinical practice CE) for a licensee’s successful completion of 
the following certification examinations: 

• Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support (ACLS), offered by 
various providers. 

• Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP), offered by various 
providers. 

• Pediatrics Advanced Life Support (PALS), offered by 
various providers. 

• Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS), offered by various 
providers. 

•	 Asthma Educator Certified (AE-C), provided by the National 
Asthma Educator Certification Board. 
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The Board will approve the following certifications for initial 
certification only and for the number of hours given by the 
provider: 

• Pulmonary rehabilitation (provided by AARC and the 
American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary 
Rehabilitation). 

• Tobacco and smoking cessation (provided by AARC). 
• COPD educator (provided by AARC). 

CE credit will not be granted for 1) any review and/or preparation 
courses for examinations, 2) basic life support, 3) the renewal, 
recredentialing, or recertification of any certification or credential 
not expressly identified, or 4) employment training/courses 
unrelated to respiratory care. 

Earning CE Credit as A Preceptor 
You may earn “live” CE hours for “leadership” credit for becoming 
involved as a preceptor (responsible for providing direct 
supervision and clinical instruction of one or more students in a 
respiratory education program) if you meet all of the following 
requirements: 
1. Hold a valid, current, and unrestricted RCP license. 
2. Hold a current and valid registered respiratory therapist 

credential. 
3.	 Practiced a minimum of 4,000 hours as an RCP within the five 

years immediately preceding the date preceptor services are 
provided. 

4. Completed a preceptor course within the last four years 
from the current date of expiration for the license, provided 
by AARC, CSRC, or a licensed health facility using AARC or 
CSRC course materials. 

5. Employed by a licensed facility to provide patient care as an 
RCP. 
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The first group to be 
affected by the new CE 

requirements are licensees 
with a December 31, 2023, 

license expiration date. 
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If you meet these qualifications, you can earn two times the actual 
CE hours provided for completing the preceptor course (noted on 
page 6) up to six hours. For example, if the preceptor course is 
three hours, you may claim six hours. 
Preceptors responsible for direct supervision and instruction to 
students in a patient-care setting in their role as an RCP employed 
to provide patient care may claim the following CE earned during 
any one renewal cycle period: 

•	 Five CE hours for 500 to 999 hours of preceptor supervision 
and instruction. 

• 10 CE hours for 1,000 to 1,499 hours of preceptor 
supervision and instruction. 

• 15 CE hours for 1,500 or more hours of preceptor 
supervision and instruction. 

Records that clearly indicate student(s) supervised, the hours 
precepted on each date, and written time logs signed or initialed 
by the education program’s clinical director should be retained 
for a period of four years from the date of instruction. A form is 
available on the RCB website for tracking purposes. 
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An RCP who serves as an instructor of the preceptor course 
for preceptors may also qualify for up to 10 hours of CE credit. 
Please visit the RCB website at www.rcb.ca.gov and review the 
CE webpage for licensees. 
Please note: There are no requirements in order to participate as a 
preceptor at your employment. These requirements are only if you 
want to claim CE credit for your involvement as a preceptor. 

New CE Requirements Implementation 
The new regulations will take effect in fall 2023 and will be 
implemented beginning January 1, 2024, with a two-year transition 
period that ends December 31, 2025. 

The first group to be affected by the new CE requirements are 
licensees with a December 31, 2023 license expiration date. If 
your license expires on that date, you must begin to earn CE 
under the new requirements beginning January 1, 2024, in order 
to meet the new CE requirements that will be in full effect for the 
December 31, 2025 license renewal. Following is a schedule for all 
renewal dates during the transition. 

RENEWAL DATE NEW CE EARNED NEXT RENEWAL 
Dec. 31, 2023 1/1/24–12/31/25 Dec. 31, 2025 
Jan. 31, 2024 2/1/24–1/31/26 Jan. 31, 2026 
Feb. 29, 2024 3/1/24–2/28/26 Feb. 28, 2026 
Mar. 31, 2024 4/1/24–3/31/26 Mar. 31, 2026 
Apr. 30, 2024 5/1/24–4/30/26 Apr. 30, 2026 
May 31, 2024 6/1/24–5/31/26 May 31, 2026 
June 30, 2024 7/1/24–6/30/26 June 30, 2026 
July 31, 2024 8/1/24–7/31/26 July 31, 2026 
Aug. 31, 2024 9/1/24–8/31/26 Aug. 31, 2026 
Sept. 30, 2024 10/1/24–9/30/26 Sept. 30, 2026 
Oct. 31, 2024 11/1/24–10/31/26 Oct. 31, 2026 

http://www.rcb.ca.gov


During this transition, as long as you have 15 hours of CE directly 
related to the practice of respiratory care and another 15 hours 
that meet the old requirements or the new requirements or a 
combination of both, your CE will be accepted for renewal of your 
license. However, beginning with your “Renewal Date” above, all 
CE earned thereafter must meet the new CE requirements. 
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RENEWAL DATE NEW CE EARNED NEXT RENEWAL 
Nov. 30, 2024 12/1/24–11/30/26 Nov. 30, 2026 
Dec. 31, 2024 1/1/25–12/31/26 Dec. 31, 2026 
Jan. 31, 2025 2/1/25–1/31/27 Jan. 31, 2027 
Feb. 28, 2025 3/1/25–2/28/27 Feb. 28, 2027 
Mar. 31, 2025 4/1/25–3/31/27 Mar. 31, 2027 
Apr. 30, 2025 5/1/25–4/30/27 Apr. 30, 2027 
May 31, 2025 6/1/25–5/31/27 May 31, 2027 
June 30, 2025 7/1/25–6/30/27 June 30, 2027 
July 31, 2025 8/1/25–7/31/27 July 31, 2027 
Aug. 31, 2025 9/1/25–8/31/27 Aug. 31, 2027 
Sept. 30, 2025 10/1/25–9/30/27 Sept. 30, 2027 
Oct. 31, 2025 11/1/25–10/31/27 Oct. 31, 2027 
Nov. 30, 2025 12/1/25–11/30/27 Nov. 30, 2027 

Please visit RCB’s CE webpage for 
more detailed information. 

Respiratory Care Board of California 
Website: www.rcb.ca.gov 
Email: rcbinfo@dca.ca.gov 

http://www.rcb.ca.gov
mailto:rcbinfo%40dca.ca.gov?subject=
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