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California Code of Regulations 
Title 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations 

Division 13.6. Respiratory Care Board 

ORDER OF ADOPTION 

Amend section 1399.349 to read as follows: 

§ 1399.349. Continuing Education Defined. 

"Continuing Education" means the variety of forms of learning experiences, including, 
but not limited to, lectures, conferences, academic studies, in-service education, 
institutes, seminars, home study, internet courses, and workshops, taken by respiratory 
care practitioners (RCPs) for licensure renewal. These learning experiences are meant 
to enhance the knowledge of the respiratory care practitioner RCP in the practice of 
respiratory care in direct and indirect patient care. Continuing education does not 
include easiG education or training needed to become a licensed RCP. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 3719 and 3740, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend section 1399.350 to read as follows: 

§ 'I 399.350. Continuing Education Required. 

(a) Each respiratory care practitioner (RCP) is required to complete 30 hours of 
approved continuing education (CE) every 2 years. At least two thiFdc-25 of the 30 
required CE hours shall be Elire(-.,tly-relate€1--te--clinical practice. completed in the 
following content areas: 

(1) A minimum of 1 0 hours shall be directly related to RCP leadership, including 
effective communication in healthcare, training for educators who provide 
instruction in respiratory care practice as defined in Sections 3702 and 3702. 7 of 
the B&P, or training in case management, health-care financial reimbursement, 
health care cost containment or health care management. Hours earned as part of 
a licensee's successful completion of the Law and Professional Ethics Course as 
provided in section 1399.350.5, and credit earned by a licensee for preceptor 
participation as provided in section 1399.352.6 shall be considered qualifying RCP 
leadership hours and counted by the Board toward meeting the requirements of 
this subdivision in accordance with sections 1399.350.5 or 1399.352.6, as 
applicable. 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours shall be directly related to the clinical practice of 
respiratory care, including training on all activities involving the practice of 
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respiratory care as defined in B&P sections 3702 and 3702.7. Hours earned as 
part of a licensee's successful completion of credentialing or certification 
examinations shall be considered qualifying CE and shall be counted by the 
Board toward meeting the requirements of this subdivision in accordance with 
section 1399.351. 

(b)An RCP may earn up to 5 hours of CE credit through attendance at open sessions of 
Respiratory Care Board meetings: attendance at California Society for Respiratory Care 
(CSRC). or American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) meetings. at the 
discretion of the AARC or CSRC in compliance with this subdivision: or completion of 
courses related to the role of a health care practitioner or indirectly related to respiratory 
care as defined in section 1399.352. 

(1) For attendance at meetings, CE shall be calculated on an hour-for-hour basis 
with one hour of CE credit accepted for each hour spent in attendance at the 
meeting, 

(2) An RCP requesting CE credit for attending a Board meeting pursuant to this 
subdivision shall sign in and out on an attendance sheet at the in-person meeting 
_or by way of a comment through a virtual. internet-based application (Webex or 
.§.imilar on-line meeting or video conferencing computer-based platform) if the 
Board o_ffers on-line public participation for the meeting, that req·uires the 
individual to provide the following: 

(Al the RCP's first and last name, 

(B) license number, 

(C) time of arrival and time of departure from the meeting, and. 

(D) disclose whether they are requesting CE credit for attendance at the 
board meeting. 

(3) An RCP requesting CE credit for attending a CSRC or AARC meeting shall 
obtain from the CSRC or AARC a written confirmation on the letterhead of the 
organization confirming the RCP's attendance at the meeting. 

(c) Subject to the requirements and limitations of this Article, CE credit may be earned 
in any of the forms of learning experiences set forth in section 1399.349. However, a 
minimum of 15 hours of CE as outlined in subdivisions (a) and (b) shall be earned from 
live courses or meetings provided with interaction between the licensee and instructor in 
real time. The instructor and the licensee need not be in the same place, but they shall 
be able to communicate either verbally or in writing with each other during the time the 
learning activity is occurring. For the purposes of this section. live courses or meetings 
include. in-person lecture educational sessions that are part of conventions, courses, 
seminars, workshops. lecture series, and online meetings with participatory interaction 
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between the licensee and the instructor via computer networks or the internet such as 
via web casts, video conferences, and audio conferences in which the licensee can 
directly interact with the instructor in real time during the instructional period. 

(d) A licensee may not claim CE hours, and the Board shall not accept CE hours, for the 
same course or credentialing or certification examination more than once per renewal 
period. 

fet(ill To renew the license, each RCP shall report compliance with the CE requirement. 
Supporting documentation showing evidence of compliance with each requirement 
under this Article, shall be submitted if requested upon request to ey the board. For the 
purposes of this article, "supporting documentation" or "documentation supporting 
compliance" shall include certificates of completion as provided in subdivision (k) of 
section 1399.352 or, for courses completed through an approved post-secondary 
institution, an official transcript showing successful completion of the course 
accompanied by the catalog's course description as provided in subdivision (I) of 
section 1399 .. 352. For CSRC or AARC meeting attendance as provided in subdivision 
{.Ql(,,1) of section 1399.350, "supporting documentation" or "documentation supporting 
compliance" includes writleQ_gpnfirrnation of physical attendance. 

(-s-){f) CE supporting documentation shall be retained by the licensee for a period of four 
years. 

Note: Authority died: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Section 3719, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section ·1399.350.5 to read as follows: 

§ 1399.:350.5. Law and Professional Ethics Course. 

(a) As pari of required continuing education, every person licensed under this chapter 
shall successfully complete a course in law and professional ethics as provided in 
section 1399.352.7 of this division, during every other license renewal cycle. 

(b) Continuing education units earned in accordance with this section shall represent 
three units toward the non clin~~i€e RCP leadership requirements set forth in 
section 1399.350(a){1). However, the course may be taken for continuing education 
credit only once during any renewal period. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719.5 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 3719 and 3719.5, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 1399.351 to read as follows: 

§ 1399.351. Approved CE Programs. 
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(a) Any course or program meeting the criteria set forth in this Article will be accepted 
by the board for CE credit. 

(b) Passing an official credentialling or proctored self evaluation examination shall be 
afJproved for CE as follows The Board shall approve 15 hours of continuing education 
(CE) credit for the award of any of the following initial credentials after successful 
completion of an examination given by the National Board for Respiratory Care: 

(1) Adult Critical Care Specialty Examination Specialist (ACCS) 15 hours; 

(2) Certified Pulmonary Function Technologist (CPFT) ---45---GE--flOOfS; 

(:3) Registered Pulmonary Function Technologist (RPFT) 15 CE hours; 

(4) Neonatal/Pediatric ~tory-('- Specialist (NPS) ~; 

(5) Sleep Disorders ~erapeutic Intervention Respiratory Care 
Specialist(SDS) 15 hours; 

(6) Asthma Educator Specialist (AE-C) and, 

.CO Reqistered Respiratory Therapist. if not required at the time of initial licensure 
pursuant to E![~P section 3735 . 

. (c) The Board shall appnwe 15 hours of CE for each initial certification and 5 hours of 
CE for each renewal or recertification for a licensee's successful completion of the 
following certification examinations: 

(61) Advanced GarofaB Cardiovascular Life Support (ACLS) number of CE 
fi0Uf&-lB--Oe-desigfH3{-ee--ey--tA&f)roviGef; 

(+~) Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP); - flllmber of CE hours to be 
Ele&ig:Aaled-by-the provider; and 

(8~) Pediatrics Advanced Life Support (PALS)--Rllmber of CE hours to be 
d-e&igM-lee-ey--~ei:. 

(91) Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) number of CE hours to be 
desifil-nated--Oy--tho provider. 

(5) Asthma Educator Certified (AE-C) (provided by the National Asthma 
Educator Certification Board). 

(d) The following certifications are approved by the Board for continuing education credit 
for initial certification only and for the number of hours given by the provider named 
below: 
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(1) Pulmonary Rehabilitation-Certified (provided by the American Association for 
Respiratory Care (AARC) and the American Association of Cardiovascular and 
Pulmonary Rehabilitation): 

(2) Tobacco and Smoking Cessation-Certified (provided by the AARC): and, 

(3) COPD Educator-Certified (provided by the AARC). 

(eg) Any course including training regarding the characteristics and method-Bf 
a<-..,sessment and treatment of acquired immune deficiency syndrome (/\IDS) meeting 
the criteria set fBHfl this Article, will be accepted by the board for CE credit CE credit 
will not be granted for: 

(1) any review and/or preparation courses for credentialing or certification 
examinations, 

(2) basic life support credentialing, 

(3) the renewal or recertification of any certification not expressly identified in 
subdivision (£),_QI 

/4) employment-related courses on subiects not described in this Article. 

(4) I:xami-Af:Af.b·,m;.-lisk...10-ln subdivisions (b)(1) through-fe-)f&l of this section shall be those 
o#eFetl-13y4he--r..JatiGnal-Bearo-fef-RespiralofY-Care and each successfully complotee 
Blffifnination-may-Oe-Boomee--0nly once for credit 

(ef) ~tJec-.ess-ft1l-GOmJ3~ation listed. in subdivisiGr4C (b)(6) through 
to)(~iB-BeGtien may be counted only once for credit and must be for the initial 
eeftifieati~ion 1399.352 for re certification CE. These pErograms and 
examinations listed in subdivision (c) shall be provided by an approved entity listed in 
subdivision (h) of Section 1399.352. 

(f) +l=le-l:Joard-£1:iall have the--atlthority to noo1t programs offering CE foF-BOmpliance with 
the-cfiterfa-set.c.forth in this Artie"°' 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 32 and 3719, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 1399.352 to read as follows: 

§ 1399.352. Criteria for Acceptability of Courses. 

Acceptable courses and programs s.hall meet the following criteria: 
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(a) The content of the course or program shall be relevant to the scope of practice of 
respiratory care, including the content areas listed in section 1399.350/a)/1)-(2). Credit 
may be given for a course that is not directly related to clinical practice related to the 
role of a health care practitioner or indirectly related to respiratory care if the content of 
the course or program relates to any of the following: 

(1) Those activities relevant lo specialized aspects of respiratory care, wh-icR 
activities includo ~ervision, and management. 

(2) Health care cost cGAtainment or cost management. 

(J1) Preventative health services and health promotion. including tobacco and 
smoking cessation counseling. 

(4~) Required abuse reporting. 

(a]) Other subject matter which is directed by legislation to be included in CE for 
licensed healing arts practitioners. 

(@.4)-R€-GeHiwaH€ffi-fori\CLS,---NRfl, PALS, and ATLS. Courses regarding the 
characteristics and method of assessment and treatment of acquired immune 
deficiency syndrome (AIDS). 

(+.§)--Review-aiK1kH' prepamtioo-BOO!"'..,os for creden.J:.ialing examinations provided 
ey-t-h{➔ -Ni.➔ti0 na~Beard-.fof-Resp+ratory-Gare, exelt1dfRg-#loso courses for entry­
level-0f--advance-lB-vel-respi rato ry therapy cert#iBat-ioflc Courses in electronic 
,~terns used for purposes of medical billing or treatment of respiratory care 
patients. 

(b) The faculty shall be knowledgeable in the subject matter as evidenced by: 

(1) A degree from an accredited college or university and verifiable experience in 
the subject matter·, or 

(2) Teaching and/or clinical experience in the same or similar subject matter. 

(c) Educational objectives shall be listed. 

(d) The teaching methods shall be described, e.g., lecture, seminar, audio-visual, 
simulation. 

(e) Evaluation methods shall document that the objectives have been met. 

(f) Each course fffi!Stshall be provided in accordance with this Article. 
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(g) Each course or provider shall hold approval from one of the entities listed in 
subdivision (h) from the time the course is distributed or instruction is given through the 
completion of the course. 

(h) €aBi=l Approved continuing education courses, in any format. ffit!Stshall be provided 
or approved by one of the following entities" Courses that are provided by one of the 
following entities must be approved by the entity's president, director, or other 
app rop rklte-pefSOAflel: 

(1) Any post-secondary institution accredited by a regional accreditation agency 
or association recognized by the United States Department of Education. 

(2) A J:iospital or health care facility health care facility licensed by the California 
Department of Health ServicesPublic Health. 

(3) The American Association for Respiratory Care. 

(4) The California Society for Respiratory Care (and all other state societies 
directly affiliated with the American Association for Respiratory Care). 

(5) The American Medical Association. 

(6) The California Medical Association. 

(7) The California Thoracic Society. 

(8) The American College of Surgeons. 

(9) The American College of Chest Physicians. 

(10) The American Heart Association 

(11) American L.unq Association 

('12) Allergy and Asthma Network 

(13) Society for Critical Care Medicine 

(14) National Asthma Education Certification Board 

(4Gj) Additional CE providers are approved by the Board to provide live, "real-time" 
courses if the entity is Any entity approved or accredited by~ 

(1) any entity identified in subdivision (h), 

.{D_+!he California Board of Registered Nursing, or 
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.Ql_the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education. 

(lj) Course organizers shall maintain a record of attendance of participants, 
documentation of participant's completion as provided in subdivision (k), and a 
description of the course, and evidence of course approval for four years. 

(j) /\II program information by providers of CE shall state: "This course meets the 
~rCE for RCPs in California." 

(k) Except as otherwise provided in this section, upon successful completion of a 
course, Aall course providers shall provide a certificate of completion or other 
documentation to course participants that includes participant name, RCP license 
number, course title, course approval identifying information, the course delivery 
method (e.g. on-line, live-on-line, in-person), the entity approving the course as 
provided in section 1399.351, and any other number or code uniquely assigned by that 
entity to represent that approval. if applicable, number of hours of CE awarded, date(s) 
CE hours awarded, and name and address of course provider. 

(I) For quarter arsernester-long courses (or their equivalent) completed at any post­
secondary institution accredited by a regional accreditation agency or association 
recognized by the United States Department of Education, an official transcript showing 
successful completion of the course accompanied by the catalog's course description 
shall fulfill the requirements in subdivisions (ii),and Glst-aAd--{kj, 

(m) The· board rnay audit providers offering CE for compliance with the criteria set forth 
in this Artide. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Section 3719, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 1399.352.5 as follows: 

§ 1399.352.5. CE Hours. 

The board will accept hours of approved CE as follows: 

(a) The number of hours designated by those entities identified in subdivision_§ (h) or (i) 
of Section 1399.352 as it pertains to their ovm course or a course approved by them. 

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), one (1) academic quarter unit is equal to ten (10) 
CE hours and one (1) academic semester unit is equal to fifteen (15) CE hours. 

(c) Providers may not grant partial credit for any CE course. Partial credit is defined as 
any time segment less than the total designated course duration or time period. 
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Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Section 3719, Business and Professions Code. 

Adopt Section 1399.352.6 as follows: 

§ 1399.352.6. Preceptors. 

(a) For the purposes of this division, "preceptor" means any person responsible for the 
direct supervision and clinical instruction 9f a student, as part of an approved respiratory 
_education program per B&P section .3740, at a facility. licensed by the California 
Department of Public Health. who meets all of the following criteria: 

(1) Holds a valid, current, and unrestricted license issued under this chapter. 

(2) Holds a current and valid Registered Respiratory Therapist credential issued 
QY..\.t\riLNational Board for Respiratory Care. 

{3) Has prncticed a minimum of 4,000 hours as a respiratory care practitioner 
(HCP) within the five (5) years immediately preceding the date preceptor services 
are provided. 

(4-) Has eornpleted a preceptor course within the last four years from the current 
str~te of exp[ration for the license, provided by: 

(/.\}the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC), 

(B) the California Society for Respiratory Care (CSRC), or 

(C) A facility. licensed by the California Department of Public Health. using 
!he course materials from the provider listed in (A) or (8) of this 
subdivision. 

(5) Is employed by a licensed facility to provide patient care as an RCP. 

(b) Preceptors who meet the criteria in subdivision (a) may claim continuing education 
as follows: 

(1) Up to two times the amount of CE hours earned for successful completion of a 
course identified in subdivision (a)/4). The amount of CE claimed per course 
under this subdivision may not exceed six (6) hours for each renewal cycle. 

(2) Preceptors responsible for direct supervision and instruction to students in a 
patient-care setting. in their role as an RCP employed to provide patient care, may 
claim the following CE earned during any one renewal cycle period: 
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{Al Five {5) CE hours for five hundred {500) to nine hundred ninety nine 
{999) hours of preceptor supervision and instruction. 

{Bl Ten {10) CE hours for one thousand (1000) to one thousand four 
hundred ninety nine (1499) hours of preceptor supervision and instruction. 

(Cl Fifteen (15) CE hours for one thousand five hundred (1500) or more 
hours of preceptor supervision and instruction. 

(D) Preceptors claiming CE credit shall retain records that clearly indicate 
the name(s) of the student(s) supervised, the hours precepted on each 
date and written time logs signed or initialed by the education program's 
clinical director of all hours for a period of four (4) years from the date of 
instruction. 

(E) Preceptor hours identified in this subdivision are for hours of 
instruction, regardless of !he number of students instructed at one time . 

.(£){_1}Jnstructor, for purposes of this section, means a person who teaches a preceptor 
course specified in subdivision (a)/4), to potential preceptors and meets the following 
Lfill.i!.lrs11nents: 

/A) Holds a valid, current, and unrestricted license issued under this 
chapter, 

(B) Holds a current and valid Registered Respiratory Therapist credential 
issued by the National Board for Respiratory Care. 

(C) Has practiced a m·inimurn of 8,000 hours as an RCP within the six (6) 
years immediately preceding the date instruction is provided. 

(D) Is employed by a facility, licensed by the California Department of 
Public Health or designated by the AARC or CSRC to provide said 
education. 

(2) This subdivision does not include instruction to students in the role of an 
educator or clinical instructor employed by a respiratory care education program. 

(d) Instructors who meet all of the criteria in subdivision (c) may claim up to ten (1 0) 
hours of CE for each renewal cycle for actual time spent teaching preceptor courses 
meeting the criteria in subdivision (a)/4). CE shall be calculated on an hour-for-hour 
basis with one hour of CE credit accepted for each hour spent teaching. 
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(e) The CE earned as provided in this section may be counted toward hours required for 
the RCP leadership requirement as provided in section 1399.350(a)(1) and toward the 
hours required for live. real-time CE requirement as provided in section 1399.350(c). 

Note: Authority cited: Section 3722. Business.and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 3719, 3719.5, and 3742 Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Sectfon 1399.352.7 as follows: 

§ 1399.352.7. Law and Professional Ethics Course Criteria. 

An acceptable course in law and professional ethics shall meet the following criteria and 
be approved by the board or its designee: 

(a) The course shall be provided by the American Association for Respiratory Care or 
the California Society for Respiratory Care. 

(b) The c;ourse.shall be three hours in length. One hour of instruction shall consist of not 
less than 50 minutes of actual classroom time or actual time spent by the licensee 
cornplelin[1 the coursework on the internet. 

· (c) At leasttwo hours of 1:!he content of the course shall seRsist--e.f be dedicated to 
;),Drofessional etnlcs with a concentration in the following subject areas: 

(1) Obligations of licensed respiratory care practitioners (RCPs) to patients under 
their care; and. 

(2) Responsibilities of rasj:)i~Bl:itionerRCPs to report illegal activities 
occurring in the work placei-BflG, 

(d) The course content m,w also include up to one hour of material with a concentratior:i. 
in: 

(a1) Acts that jeopardize licensure and licensure status in California~-and. 

(2) Current activities of the RCP profession. 

(ag) The course shall meet all of the following requirements: 

(1) The course shall consist of two (2) hours dedicated to professional ethics and 
oo&fl) hour toward California law. The board may opt to prepare or edit in full or 
part, any portion of the course. 
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ill~ The course title shall be "Law and Professional Ethics." 

ill~ Delivery and format of the course shall be user-friendly. 

@~ The course will be at least thirty (30) pages of written material with at least 
twenty (-20) test questions related to professional ethics and ten (10) related to 
Galifomia--law. 

L.42(-&) The Gfourse con-teRt mustshall include i!__course description, course 
objectives, references, scenarios, questions, a post-course examination (a test 
provided to the student at the end of the instructional period), a certificate of 
completion as provided in section 1399.352, aA4 legal disclosures to students 
required by State or federal law, and a list of course materials as applicable. 

(9,)(-0.) The course shall provide several segments. Each segment mustshall 
· include a narrative or discussion, a scenario, and at least one question. For each 
questiorrthero fl'ltlst_shall be between three and six possible responses with only 
one correct answer. Each response mustshall include an explanation as to why 
the response is incorrect or correct. The number of questions tied to each 
segment may vary, as each component will differ in length and content. 

(§)(-71 The GBHHIB post-course examination will include at least thirty (30) 
swAarkl-wsed questions that-require critic~-related to the 
instructional materials presented. 

l 
··I 

l 

{1.}(&) The provider shall submit course test scores, names and other course 
related· information to the board, a&-reEltfesteG upon request by the board. 

@2(-91 The provider shall not charge more than thirty dollars ($30) for board 
applicants and sixty dollars ($60) for board licensees or petitioners for 
reinstaterJ.J?nt. 

ffi.)(-1-0j The provider shall ensure that procedures are ih place to address 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requests. 

f.1Q)f4-B The participant shall be allowed one (1) year to complete the 
course/exam after enrollment. 

{11}~ The participant shall not be able to exit the post-course examination 
once commenced. 
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01}~ The participant shall not have a time limit to take the post-course 
examination. 

Ul}~ The minimum post-course examination passing score shall be 70%. The 
post-course examination shall be scored on all cumulative components, not by 
each section. 

f11}(45) As applicable, the provider shall offer and allow participants who failed 
the initial post-course examination to retake the post-course examination free of 
charge. There shall be no wait time to retake the post-course examination if 
previously failed. 

_(j.filf-1--&I The course will include a survey, optional to participants, to gather 
feedback for the board. 

(ef) The course is solely the product of the provider and the provider assumes full 
responsibility for the course. 

(fg) The course ffi!ffit§!iall be revised once every four years. Each revision m\ffitshall be 
approved by the board. 

(§h) The boan1"2,€00-Gatit>n•Gel'flfnitteeor its designee may rescind the approval of a 
course at any time if it believes.it has been altered or finds that the course does not 
mee:hi.he requirements as provided for in this article. 

(Jcij) The provider may advertise and or reference that an approved course is "approved" 
by the boa rd. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 3719 and 3719.5, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend section 1399.381 to read: 

§ 1399.381. Fines. 

(a) Fines shall be assessed in accordance with the following schedule as provided for 
bylaw: 

BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE 
Maximum Fine 
3717 Records from employer 
3731 Title Used by licensee 
3739 Practice during license process 

$10,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
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3750(a) Advertising 
3750(b) Fraud in the procurement of any license 
3750(c) Knowingly employing unlicensed persons 
3750(d) Conviction of crime 
3750(e) Impersonating an applicant in any examination 
3750(f) Negligence 
3750(g) Conviction of any violation of division 2 
3750(h) Aiding/Abetting person to violate this chapter 
3750(i) Aiding/abetting person to engage in unlawful practice 
3750U) Commission of fraudulent, dishonest or corrupt act 
3750(k) Falsifying/ incorrect/ inconsistent entries in record 
3750(1) Changing prescriptions/falsifying orders for treatment 
3750(m) Discipline taken by another agency 
3750(n) Knowing failure to protect patients - infection control 
3750(0) Incompetence 
'5750(p) Pattern of substandard care 
3750{q) False statements 
3750.5 Obtained/possessed/use of drugs 
3750.6 Production of work permit/pocket license 
3753.1 Pmba!ion monitoring costs 
3753.5 Cost recovery 
3754.5 Obtains license by fraud or misrepresentation 
3755 Unprofessional conduct 
3758 Employer report on suspension/termination 
3758.5 RCP rnport on violation made by other RCP 
375:~.6 Employer report on supervisor 
3760' Practice without a license/Misrepresentation 
3761 (a) Misrepresentation in claim of license lo practice 
3761 (b) Knowingly employing an unlicensed person 
3773(a)(1) License renewal - notice of conviction 
3773(a)(2) License renewal - identify employer 
3773(b) License renewal - additional information 

REGULATIONS 
1399.304 Current address 
1399.350 CE requirements 
1399.350.5 Completion of ethics/professional law course 
1399.360 Unlicensed personnel/home care 
1399.377 Records from employer 
1399.378 Licensee reporting 
1399.379 Employer reporting 

$5,000 
$5,000 

$15,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 

$10,000 
$5,000 

$10,000 
$15,000 
$15,000 
$15,000 

$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 

$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 

$15,000 
$10,000 

$5,000 
$10,000 

(b) The methodology for assessing fine amounts shall be for each inspection or 
investigation made with respect to the violation, except as provided below: 
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(1) The assessment of fine amounts for a violation involving fraudulent billing 
submitted to an insurance company, the Medi-Cal program, or Medicare, shall be 
based on each violation or count. 

(2) The assessment of fine amounts for a violation of section 3717 of the B&P or 
section 1399.377 of these regulations, shall be based upon each incident in 
which the employer fails to respond to a request to inspect or produce records as 
provided for in section 3717 of the B&P or section 1399.377 of these regulations. 

(3) The assessment of fine amounts for a violation of section 3758, 3758.5 or 
3758.6 of the B&P, or section 1399.378 or 1399.379 of these regulations, shall 
be based upon each person and/or each incident required to be reported to the 
board. 

(4) The assessment of fine amounts for a violation of section 3750(c), 3760, 
3761(a), or 3761(b) of the B&P or section 1399.360 of these regulations, shall be 
based upon each person who acts in the capacity of, or engages in the business 
of, or represents themselves as, a respiratory care practitioner, at each facility or 
location. 

(c) Administrative fines collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited into the 
board's special fund. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 125.9 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Refr:)rence: Sections 125.9, 3717, 3731, 3739, 3750, 3750.5, 3750.6, 3753.1, 3753.5, 
375il).5, 3755, :~758, 3758.5, 3758.6, 3760, 3761, 3766, 3767 and 3773, Business and 
Professions Code. 
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