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(b) An RCP may earn up to 5 hours of CE credit through attendance at 
open sessions of Respiratory Care Board meetings; attendance at 
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California Code of Regulations 
Title 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations 

Division 13.6. Respiratory Care Board 

ORDER OF ADOPTION 

Amend section 1399.349 to read as follows: 

§ 139~.349. Continuing Education Defined. 

"Continuing Education>! means the variety of forms of learning exp.erlences, including, 
but not limited to, lectures, conferences, academic studies, in~service education, 
institutes, seminars, home study, internet courses, and workshops, taken by respiratory 
care practitioners (RCPs) for licensure renewal. These learning experiences are meant 
to enhance the knowledge of the respiratory care praGtitfBfleF-RCP tn the practice of 
respiratory care in direct and indirect patient care. Continuing education does not 
includo ba-sie education or training needed to become a licensed RCP. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 3719 and 3740, Business and Professions Code. 

Am<cmd section 1399.350 to read as follows: 

§ ·1399.350. Continuing Education Required. 

(a) Each mspiratory care practitioner (RCP) is required to complete 30 hours of 
approve(J continuing education (CE) every 2 years. At least-twe-tA-i-FEl--s-25 of the 3Q 
required CE hours shall be El-ireet-ly-felatee-t~-tiee-:- completed in the 
f.ol!Q.wing content areas: 

(1) A minimum of 10 hours shall be directly related to RCP leadership, including 
effective communication in healthcare, training for educators who provide 
instruction in respiratory care practice as defined in Sections 3702 and 3702.7 of 
the B&P, or training in case management, health-care financial reimbursement, 
health care cost containment or health care management. Hours earned as part of 
a licensee's successful completion of the Law and Professional Ethics Course as 
provided in section 1399.350.5, and credit earned by a licensee for preceptor 
participation as provided !n section 1399.352.6 shall be considered qualifying RCP 
leadership hours and counted by the Board toward meeting the requirements of 
this subdivision in accordance with sections 1399.350.5 or 1399.352.6, as 
applicable. 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours shall be directly related to the clinical practice of 
respiratory care, including training on all activities involving the practice of 
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@§piratocy care as defined in B&P sections 3702 and 3702.7. Hours earned as 
part of a licensee's successful completion of credentialing or certification 
examinations shall be considered qualifying CE and shall be counted by the 
Board toward meeting the requirements of this subdivision in accordance with 
section 1399.351. 

(b} An RCP may earn up to 5 hours of CE credit through attendance at open sessions of 
Respiratory Care Board meetings; attendance at California Society for Respiratory Care 
(CSRC), or American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) meetings, at the 
discretion of the AARC or CSRC in compliance with this subdivision; or completion of 
courses related to the role of a health care practitioner or tndirectly related to respiratory 
care as defined in section 1399.352. 

( 1) For attendance at meetings, CE shall be calculated on an hour~for-hour basis 
with one hour of CE credit accepted for each hour spent in attendance at the 
m~eting. 

(2) An RCP reguesting CE credit for attending a Board meeting pursuant to this 
.$Ubdivision shall sign in and out on an attendance sheet at the in-person meetin_g 
or by way_ of a comment through a virtual, internet-based application (Webex or 
§.Lmilar on~Hne meeting or video conferencing computer-based platform) If the 
BoanLqtfers on-line public particJpatlon for the meettng, that req-uires the 
individu.-J.!JQ..Qrovide the fo!lowing: 

(A) the RCP's first and last name~ 

_(J}j license number, 

(C) time of arrival and time of departure from the meeting, an.9..i 

{D) disclose whether they are requesting CE credit for attendance at the 
board meeting. 

(3) An RCP reguesting CE credit for attending a CSRC or AARC meeting shall 
obtain from the CSRC or AARC a written confirmation on the letterhead of the 
Qr..qanization confirming the RCP's attendance at the meeting. 

(c) Subject to the rc➔quirements and limitations of this Article, CE credit may be eawed 
in any of the forms of learning experiences set forth in section 1399.349. However, a 
minimum of 15 hours of CE as outlined in subdivisions (a) and (b) shall be earned from 
live courses or meetings provided with interaction between the licensee and instructor in 
real time. The instructor and the licensee need not be in the same place, but they shall 
be able to communicate either verbally or in writing with each other during the time the 
learning activity ls occurring. For the purposes of this section, live courses or meetings 
include, in-person lecture educational sessions that are part of conventions, courses, 
seminars, WO.rksbops, lecture series, and onllne meetings with participatory interaction 
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California Code of Regulations 
Title 16. Professional and Vocational Regulations 

Division 13.6. Respiratory Care Board 

ORDER OF ADOPTION 

Amend section 1399.349 to read as follows: 

§ 1399.349. Continuing Education Defined. 

"Continuing Education" means the variety of forms of learning experiences, including, 
but not limited to, lectures, conferences, academic studies, in-service education, 
institutes, seminars, home study, internet courses, and workshops, taken by respiratory 
care practitioners (RCPs) for licensure renewal. These learning experiences are meant 
to enhance the knowledge of the respiratory care practitioner RCP in the practice of 
respiratory care in direct and indirect patient care. Continuing education does not 
include basiB education or training needed to become a licensed RCP. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 3719 an~ 3740, Business and Professions Code. 

P.mend section 1399,350 to read as follows: 

§ 1399.350. Contir.uing Education Required. 

(a) Each respiratory care practitioner (RCP) is required to complete 30 hours of 
approved continuing education (CE) every 2 years. At least-twe-t-rums-25 of the 30 
required CE hours shall be Girectly relateEl--to clinical practice. completed in the 
following content areas: 

(1) A minimum of 10 hours shall be directly related to RCP leadership, including 
effective communication in healthcare, training for educators who provide 
instruction in respiratory care practice as defined in Sections 3702 and 3702.7 of 
the B&P, or training in case management, health-care financial reimbursement, 
health care cost containment or health care management. Hours earned as part of 
a licensee's successful completion of the Law and Professional EtbJcs Gaurs~s 
provided in section 1399.350.5, and credit earned by a licensee for preceptor 
participation as provided in section 1399.352.6 shall be considered qualifving RCP 
leadership hours and counted by the Board toward meeting the requirements of 
this subdivision in accordance with sections 1399.350.5 or 1399.352.6, as 
applicable. 

(2) A minimum of 15 hours shall be directly related to the clinical practice of 
respiratory care, including training on all activities involving the practice of 
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respiratory care as defined in B&P sections 3702 and 3702.7. Hours earned as 
part of a licensee's successful completion of credentialing or certification 
examinations shall be considered qualifying CE and shall be counted by the 
Board toward meeting the requirements of this subdivision in accordance with 
section 1399.351. 

(b) An RCP may earn up to 5 hours of CE credit through attendance at open sessions of 
Respiratory Care Board meetings; attendance at California Society for Respiratory Care 
(CSRC}i or American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) meetings. at the 
discretibn of the MRC or CSRC in compliance with this subdivision; or attendance at 
courses related to the role of a health care practitioner or indirectly related to respiratory 
care as defined in section 1399.352. 

(1) For attendance at meetings, CE shall be calculated on an hour-for-hour basis 
with one hour of CE credit accepted for each hour spent in attendance at the 
meeting: 

(2) An RCP requesting CE credit for attending a Board meeting pursuant to this 
subdivision shall sign in and out on an attendance sheet at the in-person meeting 
or by way of a comment through a virtual, internet-based application (Webex or 
similar on-line meeting or video conferencing computer-based platform) if the 
Board offers on-line public participation for the meeting, that requires the 
individual to provide the following: 

(A) the RCP's first and last name. 

(B) license number, 

(C) time of arrival and time of departure from the meeting, and, 

(D) disclose whether they are requesting CE credit for attendance at the 
board meeting .. 

(3) An RCP requesting CE credit for attending a CSRC or AARC meeting shall 
obtain from the CSRC or AARC a written confirmation on the letterhead of the 
organization confirming the RCP's attendance at the meeting. 

(c) Subject to the requirements and limitations of this Article, CE credit may be earned 
in any of the forms of learning experiences set forth in section 1399.349. However, a 
minimum of 15 hours of CE as outlined in subdivisions (a) and (b) shall be earned from 
live courses or meetings provided with interaction between the licensee and instructor in 
real time. The instructor and the licensee need not be in the same place, but they shall 
be able to communicate either verbally or in writing with each other during the time the 
learning activity is occurring. For the purposes of this section, live courses or meetings 
include, in-person lecture educational sessions that are part of conventions, courses, 
seminars, workshops, lecture series, and online meetings with participatory interaction 
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between the licensee and the instructor via computer networks or the internet such as 
via web casts, video conferences, and audio conferences in which the licensee can 
directly interact with the Instructor fn real time during the instructional period . 

(d) A licensee may not claim CE hours, and the Board shall not accept CE hours. for the 
same course or credentialing or certification examination more than once per renewal 
period. 

f91.(fil To renew the license, each RCP shall report compliance with the CE requirement. 
Supporting documentation showing evidence of compliance with each requirement 
under this Article, shall be submitted if~esteG upon request to by the board. For the 
purposes of this article. "supporting documentation" or "documentation supporting 
compliance" shall include certificates of completion as provided in subdivision (k) of 
section 1399.352 or, for courses compfeted througl1 an approved post-seconda['i'. 
institution, an official transcript showing successful completion of the course 
accomRan-led by the- catalog's course description as provided in subdivision (I) of 
section 1399.352. For CSRC or AARC meeting attendance as provided in subdivision 
(.QlQJ--9.f_§._ection 139-9.350, "s1J12porting documentation" or "documentation supporting 
comgllance" includes~ writt~1.confirrnation of physical attendance..:. 

(&)_{f} CE supporting documentation shall be retained by the licensee for a period of four 
years. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
t Reference: S<:K:tion 3719, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section ·1399.~l50.5 to read as follows: 

§ 1399.;350.5. Law and Professional Ethics Course. 

(a) As pari of required continuing education, every person licensed under this chapter 
shall successfully complete a course ln law and professional ethics as provided in 
section 1399.352.7 o-f this divisron, during every other license renewal cycle. 

(b) Continuing education units earned in accordance with this section shall represent 
three units toward the fle-A-el+Aira-1---i,rac--tiee RCP leadership requirements set forth in 
section 1399.350(a)W. However, the course may be taken for continuing education 
credit only once during any renewal period. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719.5 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 3719 and 3719.5, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 1399.351 to read as follows: 

§ 1399.351. Approved CE Programs. 
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(a) Any course or program meeting the criteria set forth in this Article will be accepted 
by the board for CE credit. 

( b) Pass+Af}-a-fl-0-ffielal-GFeEleAti~l'-f}f9GtefeEl---sel:f-e-va~oo~mi nation sha 11-ee 
~l-lews The Board shall approve 15 hours of continuing education 
(CE} credit for the award of any of the following initial credentials after successful 
completion of an examination given by the National Board for Respiratory Care: 

(1) Adult Critical Care -£.f}eGi-a+ty ExamiRatiefl Specialist (ACCS) -4-e-lioora; 

(2} Certified Pulmonary Function Technologist (CPFT) -'1-§-GE-RGtfr:s; 

(:3) Registered Pulmonary Function Technologist (RPFT) --4a--G~; 

(4) Neonatal/Pediatric ~ter-y-Gare Specialist (NPS) -4-e-G~OOFS; 

( 5) SI eep D iso rde rs ::i::es-tffi~--a-n4-Toera!:)el:ffifr~At~~ifatei=y-Gafe 
Specialist(S.DS) -1-9-Ae-HFS; 

Lfil.Ast\)ma Educator SpeciaHst (AE-C) and, 

{.?) R~glstemld Respiratory Therapist, if not required at the time. of initial licensure 
pursuant to EH1.P_section 3735. 

-i ·,, (g_LThEi Board sl·u~II ap_prc,ve 15 hours of CE for each initial certification and 5 hours of 
~~t ~~E for each r~m?1.Y~!LQ.Lf§1certit1catio11 for a lfcensee's successful completion of the 

j ,, following_ certification examinations: 

(61.) Advanced Gaffi-ia-0 Cardiovascular Life Support (ACLS) numbef--0-f--GE­
J:\0+.tF&-te--be-tlesig_flatBfi-by--tAe-fdffi-Vi€1Bf; 

(+f.) Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP); - wmber of CE houFs-t0-be 
de-si9:R."7¾teEf .. ,by--tt-1e--prn-viEleF,-,.'¼AG 

{&}~) Pediatrics Advanced Life Support (PALS) ----Atlf00€f--e-f-Gf-t:IOO-F&-tG-£e 
Et~g-AatEH:i--ey.tl=le--Pfe-viae-r-. 

(9~) Advanced Tr1:wma Life Support (ATLS)--AuffibeF-{}f-G€--Aoor-s-te--ee 
ElesigflateEi-0-y--tl:ie-provider. 

_(§) Asthma Educator Certified (AE-C) (provided by the National Asthma 
Educator Certification Board). 

(d) The following certifications are approved by the Board for continuing education credit 
for initial certification only and for the number of hours given by the provider named 
below: 
----·---- -·-·---·-----~----------------------
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(1) Pulmonary Rehabilitation-Certified (provided by the American Association for 
Respiratory Care (AARC) and the American Association of Cardiovascular and 
Pulmonary Rehabilitation); 

(2) Tobacco and Smoking Cessation-Certified (provided by the AARC); and, 

(3) COPD Educator-Certified (provided by the AARC). . 

( sg) ARY-Boo-~udl ng tra i Rifl~r.El-i-ng the aha rac-teFi-stiGS--afl4-me.t!md-e-f 
a-ssessmor-it-aR€l-tF0atFA~ffit1He--de.flGieAey--sy-r-1dromo (/\I QS}-meetiA{:J 
tt-le--eF~teria-se-t-.for- i-A--tl:i i-s--Ar-ti ele, wi ll-be-aGeei,teEl-0y---#le-eoard f.o r CE creelt-C E credit 
will not be granted for: 

(1) any review and/or preparation courses for credentialing or certification 
exam !nations, 

{2) basic life support credentlaling, 

{ill the renewal or recertification of any certification not expressly identified in 
subdivision (c\ or ,. ____ R ___ ., __ • .,. _ _ :::!J.J_ __ , .. 

( 4) em ployrnent-related courses on subjects not described in this Article. 

)c; . fEJ-) E xn rni-nf:i-~t-GflS--!ist0e~A--SOOEHV-iSiBA~(~A-~IJ..)f5j-ef-4!ajs...seetj0A-BRffil--Oe-tROOe 
t :. of.f-eFe<4-b-y-tR€t·l~af.iGA•aJ-g~-~e&ft¼ffit&f:y-GBf&aAG-eaSA--Sl:lGGe-ssfuily-oomf:)k:4ee . 

e*ar-ninati0n-rnay-0e-'E,Ot;1HteEl--0Al.y0flGe--f0-r:-GFeEi-it-

( ef) g{:IBGe.s&fut-~le-oon-Gf'..eacil examin-atlefHi.steEHn subd ivi-si0r-IB-te-~€lfl 
(-BJ(-9-j-Gf-this-seeti0A-may-Be countoc=J...eruy-ence for ereEi-it-anft-m.btSt-Be-:fOF-t!=le-mi-tia-1 
Geftif~eall0-1-1~e-seGt:ie-n 139 9 . 352 f 0-F-Fe-Geftifu.ati0-n-Gt.--;-+Re-se-p .E rog rams and 
examinations li.§1ed in subdivision (c) shall be provided by an approved entity listed in 
subdivision (h) of Section 1399.352. 

(f) +Ae-l;ioat=Ef--stmll have tl=!e--allil=tefity-t-e--ooEHt-f>FO@Fams-effeFiH§j-Gf;.fe,H,0mplia Me-Witfl 
tfie.-GfiteRa-set~eftR in this Aliic-te-: 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 32 and 3719, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Section 1399.352 to read as follows: 

§ 1399.352. Criteria for Acceptability of Courses. 

Acceptable courses and programs $hall meet the following criteria: 
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(a) The content of the course or program shaH be relevant to the scope of practice of 
respiratory care, including the content areas listed in section 1399.350(a)( 1 )-(2}. Credit 
may be given for a course that is r-iet-Giremly-reiat-ed to clinical-f}raGtiee related to the 
role of a health care practitioner or indirectly related to respiratory care if the content of 
the course or program relates to any of the following : 

{4+-T-oose--a-Gti¥it-ies---ffile¥aAt---te--specializeEl--a-spects of resf;)ifatePJ-eafe-,wl.'.lk,f:l 
a-GtMtie-s-+A-Glt!Ele--eGUGatieR,&l:$efVi-siGA-;--ar-tEl-rnaR-a§e m ent. 

(2) H eaith-ear-e-Goot---sootafflffieHt-e-r-GGSHfl-ar-la§emem-, 

(d1) Preventative health services and health promotion 1 including tobacco and 
smol<ing ..9essation counseling , 

(4f) Required abuse reporting. 

(B~) Other subject matter which is directed by legislation to be included in CE for 
licensed healing arts practitioners. 

(@.4)-R~:K:emooatfoo fur I\GLS, -NRP-, PALS, and ATLS. Courses regarding t!:1§ 
,char~_ct?Jistics and method of assessment and treatment of acquired immune 
,cjJ~ficiency syng_rorne (At OS). 

(+.~)--ReviBw .. andk»:-~-atioo--GOOfSe-&:f0f-Grac4€-r-l-t-ialrn§!--ex.:1rniRaOOBS-f>mviEl ea 
t,+y-tFK➔ -NH-~i<➔rtal--Baa-re--ror-t1es13+ratof3/-Ca re, e~sl-1:idir-l~~e-s-fe-r-e11ti=y­
te ve l-ef--a~ivanGe-lB-v<::..J--i=e-s13irat0-P{41q,efafcl'f-GSFl#i-eatiefh ~o LJrse s in electronic 
~mt~zrrnt L1seru.,or purposes of medical billing or treatment of respiratory care 
,Qatients. 

(b) The 'faculty shall be knowledgeable in the subject matter as evidenced by: 

(1) A degree from an accredited college or uriiversity and verifiable experience in 
the subject matter, or 

(2) Teaching and/or clinical experience in the same or similar subject matter. 

(c) Educational objectives shall be listed. 

(d} The teaching methods shall be described, e.g., lecture, seminar, audio-visual, 
simulation. 

(e) Evaluation methods shall document that the objectives have been met. 

(f) Each course ffit.1-Stshall be provided in accordance with this Article. 
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(g) Each course or provider shall hold approval from one of the entities listed in 
subdivision (h) from the time the course is distributed or instruction is given through the 
completion of the course. 

(h) E-aoo Approved continuing education courses, in any format. fl'-l{:jstshall be provided 
or approved by one of the following entitieS: GGHFGes that are proviEf-ea---by-0Ae-ef..tl=le 
fGUGw~Ag -entities--ffWSt-b~0¥e€1-s-y-tl:!e-efltity's president,€1-ifeefor,or other 
a pp ro p rlate-f:}Bffi0flfle-l; 

(1) Any post~secondary institutlon accredited by a regional accreditation agency 
or association recognized by the United States Department of Education. 

(2) A flOSl:}ital--Of..hea!tJ:l-eare facility health care facility licensed by the California 
Department of t4~th ServicesPublic Health. 

(3) The American Association for Respiratory ~are. 

( 4) The California Socrety for Respiratory Care ( and all other state societies 
dirnGtly affiliated with the American Association for Respiratory Care). 

(5) The American Medical Association. 

(6) The California Medical Association. 

(7) The California Thoracic Society. 

(8) The American College of Surgeons. 

(9) The American College of Chest Physicians. 

("10) The American Heart Association 

(11) American Lunq Association 

(12) Allerqy and Asthma Network 

(13) Society for Critical Care Medicine 

(14) l\lational Asthma Education Certification Board 

(-1-Gl) Additional CE providers are approved by the Board to provide live, "real-time" 
courses if the entity is Afly-ef¼Ut-y approved or accredited by~ 

(1) any entity identified in subdivision (h), 

fil +!he California Board of Registered NursingJ. or 
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.Q.Lthe Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education. 

(il) Course organizers shall maintain a record of attendance of participants, 
documentation of participant's completion as provided in subdivision (k), and a 
description of the course, ooEl-evioonce of course apf)feva-1-for four years. · 

HMU-pr-09r-am-•Afe-fmatiefl..by-f>fG-V-1~~AaU-st-at~ldf6e-mee-ts-tRe 
r~werneRt-s-f0f--G€--fer RGPs ~A-~~ 

(k) Except as otherwise provided in this sectfon, upon successful completion of a 
course, A.all course providers shall provide a certificate of comp!etion or other 
documentation to course partictpants that includes participant name, RCP license 
number, course title, course approval identifying information, the course delivery 
method (e.g. on-line. live~on-line, in-person)1 the entity approving the course as 
provided fn section· 1399.351, and any other number or code uniquely assigned by that 
entity: to repres.r.mt that approval, if applicable, number of hours of CE awarded, date(s) 
.Q!;_.b..:,wrn awardeg., and name and address of course provider. 

(I) For qu,arter crr-sernester~long courses (or their equivalent) completed at any post­
secondary institution accredited by a regional accreditation agency or association 
recognized by the United States De·partment' of Education, an official transcript showing 
successful completion of the course accompanied by the catalog's course description 
shall fulfill the requirnrnents in subdivisions (ii),and (JJsL-aAd-{~,-

'l (m) Thr:f board n1ay audit providers offering CE for compllance with the criteria set forth 
in this Article. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 37"19 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
ReferenGe: Section-3719, 8-usiness and Professions Code. 

Amend Soction 1399.352.5 as follows: 

§ 1399.352.5. CE Hours. 

The board will accept hours of approved CE as follows: 

(a) The number of hours designated by those entities identified in subdivision~ (hl.Qr_fil 
of Section 1399.352 a-s-it--f}efta-ms--te-t-r.eir own G0bffse or a eo1Jrse--awro-ve0--sy--them. 

(b) Notwithstanding subdivislon (a), one (1) academic quarter unit is equal to ten (10) 
CE hours and one (1) academic semester unit is equal to fifteen (15) CE hours. 

(c) Providers may not grant partial credit for any CE course. Partial credit ts defined as 
any time segment less than the total designated course duration or time period. 

-·------------- ----- -
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Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Section 3719, Business and Professions Code. 

Adopt Section 1399.352.6 as follows: 

§ 1399.352.6. Preceptors. 

(a) For the purposes of this division, ''.preceptor" means any person responsible for the 
direct supervision and clinical instruction of a student. as part of an approved respiratory 
education m:ogrnm per B81P section 3740, at a facility, licensed by the California 
Department of Public Health, who meets all of the following criteria: 

{JlHolqs a valid, current, and unre.stricted Hcense issued under this chapter. 

!2.U:iQld s a current and valid · Registered Respiratory Therapist credential issued 
QYJ.tl~J)i~tional Bo;;1rd f9r R~spir9tory Care. 

(;3) Ha~um-.:1cticed a minirnurn of 4,000 hours as a respiratory care practitioner 
.(J3_Cf:1.~itl·iin the fiv~ufil years immediately_m:eceding the date preceptor services 
are provich:KL 

{:!J.ti~~J19mplo:3ted a PX.fl Q@Jor course within the last four years from the current 
::r fl\~t(1 of exgirntion for the license..L Qrovided by: 

(~Ub.e American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC),. 

{.!2jJhe California Society for Respiratory Care (CSRC), or 

{Q). A facility, ligensed by the California Department of Public Health. using 
!he course materials from the provider listed in (A) or (B) of this 
subdivision. 

{~) Is employed by a licensed facility to provide patient care as an RCP. 

(b) Precegtors who meet the criteria in subdivision (a) may claim continuing education 
as follows: 

{1) Up to two times the amount of CE hours earned for successful completion of a 
course identified in subdivision fa)(4). The amount of CE claimed per course 
under this subdivision may not exceed six (6) hours for each renewal cycle. 

(2) Preceptors responsible for direct supervision and instruction to students in a 
Q.atient-care setting, in their role as an RCP employed to provide patient care, may 
claim the foHowing CE earned during any one renewal cycle period: 
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{A) Five (5) CE hours for five hundred (500) to nine hundred ninety nine 
(999) hours of preceptor supervision and instruction. 

(B) Ten (10) CE hours for one thousand (1000) to one thousand four 
hundred ninety nine (1499) hours of preceptor supervision and instruction. 

(C) Fifteen (15) CE hours for one thousand five hundred (1500) or more 
hours of preceptor supervision and Instruction. 

(D) Preceptors claiming CE credit shall retain records that clearly indicate 
the name{s) of the student(s) sup<.=,rvised, the hours precepted on each 
date and written time logs signed or initialed by the education program's 
clinical ·director of all hours for a period of four (4) years from the date of 
instruction. 

(E) Preceptor hours identified·in this subdivision are for hours of 
instruction, ~er.;,ardfess Qf~he-·number of students instructed at one time. 

{Q){J) Instructor, for purposes of this section, means a person who teaches a preceptor 
g_9jJrs~.specified in subdiviston (a)(4), to potential preceptors and meets the following 
feQ.Uirements: 

fA) Holds a valid, current, and unrestricted license issued under this 
_gJ1apter. 

(E3) Holds a current and valid Registered Respiratory Therapist credential 
l§::3ued by the Na.tional ·soard for Respiratory Care. 

(9) Has practiced a minimum of 8,000 hours as an RCP within the six (61 
years immediately preceding the date instruction is provided. 

(D) Is employed by a facility, licensed by the California Department of 
Public Health or designated by the AARC or CSRC to provide said 
education. 

(2) This subdivision does not include instruction to students in the role of an 
equcator or clinical instructor employed by a respiratory care education program. 

(d) Instructors who meet all of the criteria in subdivision (c) may claim up to ten (10) 
hours of CE for each renewal cycle for actual time spent teaching preceptor courses 
meeting the criteria in subdivision (a)(4). CE shall be calculated on an hour-for~hour 
basis with one hour of CE credit accepted for each hour spent teaching. 

______ ___________ ,._,,., .. ,- .... ~.~--~---------- ~---
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(e) The CE earned as provided in this section may be counted toward hours required for 
the RCP leadership requirement as provided in section 1399.350(a)(1) and toward the 
hours required for five, real-time CE requirement as provided in section 1399.350(c). 

Note: Authority cited: Section 3722, Business.and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 3719, 3719.5, and 3742 Business and Professions Code. 

Amend Secti'on 1399.352.7 as follows: 

§ 1399.352. 7. Law and Professional Ethics Course Criteria. 

An acceptable course in law and professional ethics shall meet the following criteria and 
be approved by the board or its designee: 

(a) The. course shall be provided by the American Association for Respiratory Care or 
the California Society for Respiratory Care. ·· 

(b) The GOUf;·sri,.:Shall be three hours in length. One hour of instruction shall consist of not 
lc-~ss than 60 n1inutes of actuar classroom time or actual time spent by the licensee 
complfJtino the coursework on the internet. 

, (c' At least two hours of 1:the content of the course shall eeRsfSt: .. e{be dedicated to 
: \ , ·-- . . --.-.. -~~- -

,tprofesslonal etnJcs with a concentration in the following subject areas: 

(1) Obligations of licensed respiratory care practitioners (RCPs) to patients under 
their care; 9ncl, 

(2) 11esponslbilities of fe&f;}irator-y-Gafe-f}raet+tiooefRCPs to r_eport illegal activities 
occurring in the ·work placei-aRt( 

LcD. The course content_Q.1.s:!Y also include up to one hour of materfal with a concentration 
in: 

(31) Acts that jeopardize licensure and licensure status in California.-and, 

(2) Current activities of the RCP profession. 

(fig) The course shall meet all of the following requirements: 

t1-)-T-Ae-GeuFSe-St:\a~t-e-f-tw~e-ms d ed ioatefl.-te-pfefB.ssiooal ethics ano 
ooe+i+~fwAfa--l.aw.:..+Ae--eear-Ei may opt to prep-affHw-oot-ifl-ful-l-0f 
pa rt, an y-f)0fti0A-0.f-the-e0uFSe. 
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(1_).f2) The course title shalt be "Law and Professional Ethics." 

.(_g}f3) Delivery and format of the course shall be user-friendly. 

@(4J The course will be at least thirty (30) pages of written material wi#1 at least 
twemy-(-20-)-test-~esfte.AS-felateEl-te--professional ethics ane-too (10) relate€1----te 
G-a+ifomia---4aw. 

L42(-&) The_Ggourse csnt-eRt mustshal! include g__course description, course 
objectives, r-afefer-lGeS,sGeA-afi0-S,---€J-tfestiB-R-S, a post~course examination (a test 
provided to the student at the end of the instructional period), .§...Certificate of 
completion as provided in section 1399.352, am!- legal disclosures to students 
required by State or federal law, and a list of course materials as applicable. 

f~j.(G-) 'The. course shall pro_vide several segments. Each segment ffil:I.Stshall 
· includH· Fl narrative or discussio'n, a scenario, and at least one question. For each 
qu(➔Stionthere ffltlSt_shaH be between three and six possible responses with only 
one crnT<:~ct. answer. Eact1 response ffil:ffitshall include an explanation as to why 
tt10 rnsponse is incorrect or correct. The number of questions tied to each 
segment may vary, as each component will differ in length and content. 

.(mF➔ ThE:) €Bl-~-se Q.ost-course eKamination wHI include at least thirty (30) 
sooAaFi<+--l:.i.3-sed questions th-a-t-reql:life-GritiGal-tl:1iFtkiHg--sk-U+s-related to the 
instructional materials presented. 

.Ul~ Thti.1 provider shall submit course test scores, names and other course 
rc~lated, information to the board, a-s-r-eEJtteste4 upon request by the board. 

{].2(-91 The provider shall not charge more than thirty dollars ($30) for board 
applicants and sixty dollars ($60) for board licensees or petitioners for 
rginstateir1ent. 

{ill{-1-0j The provider shall ensure that procedures are ih place to address 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requests. 

_{_1Q}f4-B The participant shall be allowed one (1) year to complete the 
course/exam after enrollment. 

UJ.2(-1-2-j The participant shall not be able to exit the post-course examination 
once commenced. 
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!.1£!~ The participant shall not have a time limit to take the post-course 
examination . 

.(jl).f:1-4) The minimum post-course examination passing score shall be 70%. The 
post-course examination shall be scored on all cumulative components, not by 
each section. 

£1..1}(-%-j As applicable, the provider shall offer and allow participants who failed 
the initial post-course examination to retake the post-course examina~ion free of 
charge. There shall be no wait time to retake the post-course examination if 
previously failed . 

.(j.fil(4-fJ-) The course will include a survey, optional to participants, to gather 
feedbacl< for the board. 

(ef) ThE~ course is solely the product of the provider and the provider assumes full 
responsibility for the course. , .. 

(fg) The course fntl-P.A_;i_hfil[ be revised once every four years. Each revision m-1::i-stshall be 
approved by the board. 

(§Jtl) The board-~-E,..-~EI-HeatJ0n•G0Hlf"A+ttei.:;}or its desiqnee may rescind the approval of a 
course at any time if it beli.eves .It has been altered or finds that the course does not 
rnHEi~thrJ requirements as prnvidEid for in this article. 

(Al) The provider may advertise and or reference tllat an approved course is "approved" 
by the board. 

Note: Authority cited: Section 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 371~ and 3719.5, Business and Professions Code. 

Amend section 1399.381 to read: 

§ 1399.381. Fines. 

(a) Fines shall be assessed in accordance with the following schedule as provided for 
bylaw: 

BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE 
Maximum Fine 
3717 Records from employer 
3731 Title Used by licensee 
3739 Practice during license process 
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3750(a) Advertising 
3750(b) Fraud in the procurement of any license 
3750(c) Knowingly employing unlicensed persons 
3750(d) Conviction of crime 
3750(e) Impersonating an applicant in any examination 
3750(f) Negligence 
3750(g) Conviction of any violation of division 2 
3750(h) Aiding/Abetting person to violate this chapter 
3750(i) Aiding/abetting person to engage in unlawful practice 
3750(j) Commission of fraudulent, dishonest or corrupt act 
3750(1<) Falsifying/ incorrect/ inconsistent entries in record 
3750(1) Changing prescriptions/falsifying orders for treatment 
3750(rn) Discipline taken by another agency 
3750(n) Knowing failure to protect patients - infection control 
3750(0) Incompetence 
·'B750(p) Pattern of substandard care 
375..Q.{g) False statements 
3750.5 Obtained/possessed/use of drugs 
3750.6 Production of work permit/pocket license 
3 753.1 Probation monitoring . costs 
3753.5 Cnst recovery 
3754.5 Obtains license by fraud or misrepresentation 
37fi5 Unprofesslonal conduct 
:J758 Employer report on suspension/termination 
3758.G RCP rnport on violation made by other RCP 
37!3\~.e Emp!oym report on supervisor 
3760 Practice witr1out a license/Misrepresentation 
3761 (a) Misrepresentation in claim of license to practice 
376 ·1 (b) Knowingly employing an unlicensed person 
3773(a)(1) License renewal .. notice of conviction 
3773(a)(2) License renewal - identify employer 
3773(b) License renewal~ additional information 

REGULATIONS 
1399.304 Current address 
1399.350 CE requirements 
1399.350.5 Completion of ethics/professional law course 
1399.360 Unlicensed personnel/home care 
1399.377 Records from employer 
1399.378 Licensee reporting 
1399.379 Employer reporting 

$5,000 
$5,000 

$15,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 

$10,000 
$5,000 

$10,000 
$15,000 · 
$15,000 
$15,000 

$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 

$5,000 
$5,000 
$5,000 

$15,000 
$10,000 

$5,000 
$10,000 

(b) The methodology for assessing fine amounts shall be for each inspection or 
investigation made with respect to the violation, except as provided below: 

Respiratory Care Board ORDER OF ADOPTION 
16 CCR 1399.349 thrnugh 1399.381 Continuing Education and Cite and Fine 

Page 14 of 15 
3/20/2023 



(1} The assessment of fine amounts for a violation involving fraudulent billing 
submitted to an insurance company, the Medi~Cal program, or Medicare, shall be 
based on each violation or count. 

(2) The assessment of fine amounts for a violation of section 3717 of the B&P or 
section 1399.377 of these regulations, shall be based upon each incident in 
which the employer fails to respond to a request to inspect or produce records as 
provided for in section 3 717 of the B&P or section 1399 .377 of these regulations. 

(3) The assessment of fine amounts for a violation of section 3758, 3758.5 or 
3758.6 of the B&P, or section 1399.378 or 1399.379 of these regulations, shal! 
be based upon each person and/or each incident required to be reported to the 
board. 

(4) The assessment of fine amounts for a violation of section 3750(c), 3760, 
3761(a), or 3761(b) of the B&P or section 1399.360 of these regulations, shall be 
based uponeach person who acts in the capacity of, or engages in the business 
of, or represents themselves as, a respiratory care practitioner, at each facility or 
location. 

(c) Administrative fines collected pursuant to thls section shall be deposited into the 
board's special fund. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 125.9 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. 
Refr~~rence: Sections ·125.9, 3717, 3731, 3739, 3750, 3750.5, 3750.6, 3753.1, 3753.5, 
3764.5, 3755, 3758, 3758.5, 3758.6, 3760, 3761, 3766, 3767 and 3773, Business and 
Professions Code.. 

--- ----- ---------
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Emailed Authorization 

from the Respiratory Care Board 



Huynh, Thanh@OAL 

From: 
Sent: 
To: 
Subject: 

Nunez, Stephanie@DCA <Stephanie.Nunez@dca.ca.gov> 
Friday, August 11, 2023 10:37 AM 
Huynh, Thanh@OAL 
RE: 2023-0628-01 S - Error on page 2 re 1399.350(b) 

Yes. You have my authorization to correct page 2 as indicated . Thank you. 

Stephanie Nunez, Executive Officer 
Respiratory Care Board 
916.999.2212 

From: Huynh, Thanh@OAL <Thanh.Huynh@oal.ca.gov> 
Sent: Friday, August 11, 2023 10:35 AM 
To: Nunez, Stephanie@DCA <Stephanie.Nunez@dca.ca.gov> 
Subject: 2023-0628-01S - Error on page 2 re 1399.350(b) 

Hi Stephanie, 

I mistakenly filed the wrong regulation text yesterday. Can I get your authorization to correct page 2 re 1399.350(b) to 
show: 

(b) An RCP may earn up to 5 hours of CE credit through attendance at open sessions of 
Respiratory Care Board meetings; attendance at California Society for Respiratory Care 
(CSRC), or American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) meetings, at the discretion oi 
the AARC or CSRC in compliance with this subdivision; or attendance at courses related to the 
role of a health care practitioner or indirectly related to respiratory care as defined in section 
1399.352. 

Thanh Huynh 
Senior Attorney 
Office of Administrative Law 
300 Capitol Mall, suite 1250 
Sacramento, CA 95814 
Tel.: (916) 323-6824 
Fax: (916) 323-6826 

CONFIDENTIAL NOTICE: This email from the State of California, with its contents and attachments, is solely for the use of 
the intended recipient and may contain confidential and privileged information. Unauthorized interception, review, 
copying, distribution, use, disclosure or reliance is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the 
sender and destroy all copies of this email. 

1 
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