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Attachment 7d
Meeting Date:  11/1/19RESPIRATORY CARE BOARD

Department of Consumer Aff airs
California Code of Regulations. Title 16.  Division 13.6 Respiratory Care Board.  Article 5 

CONTINUING EDUCATION

PROPOSED LANGUAGE

§ 1399.349. Continuing Education Defined

“Continuing Education” means the variety of forms of learning experiences, including, but not 

limited to, lectures, conferences, academic studies, in-service education, institutes, seminars, 

home study, internet courses, and workshops, taken by respiratory care practitioners for 

licensure renewal. These learning experiences are meant to enhance the knowledge of the 

respiratory care practitioner in the practice of respiratory care in direct and indirect patient care. 

Continuing education does not include basic education or training needed to become a 

licensed

RCP.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 
3719 and 3740, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1399.350. Continuing Education Required.(a) Each respiratory care practitioner (RCP) is required to complete 30 hours of approved

continuing education (CE) every 2 years as follows: At least two-thirds of the required CE hours

shall be directly related to clinical practice.

(1) A minimum of 10 hours must be directly related to practitioner leadership, including

courses and conventions for educators educating students and practitioners, preceptor 

training, case management, or health-care fi nancial reimbursement, cost containment or 

management. Successful completion of the Law and Professional Ethics Course as provided 

in section 1399.352, and credit earned for preceptor participation as provided in section 

1399.352.5 may be counted toward this requirement.

(2) A minimum of 15 hours must be directly related to the clinical practice of respiratory

care.  Successful completion of credentialling or certifi cation examinations may be 

counted toward this requirement as provided in section 1399.353.

(3) Up to 5 hours may be earned through physical attendance at Respiratory Care

Board, California Society for Respiratory Care, or American Association for Respiratory Care 

meetings open to the public or courses related to the role of a health care practitioner or 

indirectly related to respiratory care as may be included in section 1399.354.

(b) A minimum of 15 hours of CE as outlined in subdivision (a) must be earned from live

courses or meetings provided with interaction in real time.  The provider and the learner need 

not be in the same place but they must be able to communicate either verbally or in writing 

with each other during the time the learning activity is occurring.   Examples of provider 
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directed activities include, but are not limited to, live lecture educational sessions that are part 

of conventions, courses, seminars, workshops, lecture series, and distance learning activities 

such as web casts, video conferences, and audio conferences in which the learner can directly 

interact with the provider in real time.

(c) Completion of courses or successful completion of credentialling or certfi cation examinations

may not be repeated for credit during any one renewal cycle period. 

(b) (d)To renew the license, each RCP shall report compliance with the CE requirement.

Supporting documentation showing evidence of compliance with each requirement under this

Article, shall be submitted if requested by the board.  Upon the board’s request, the licensee

shall provide the board with documentation as provided in subdivision (b) of section 1399.356

or for courses completed through an approved post-secondary institution, an offi cial transcript

showing successful completion of the course accompanied by the catalog’s course description.

(c) (e) CE supporting documentation shall be retained by the licensee for a period of four
years.Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section
3719, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1399.351. Approved Courses and Providers.

(a) Approved continuing education (CE) courses, in any format, shall be approved by or

provided by the following entities: 

(1) Any post-secondary institution accredited by a regional accreditation agency or

association recognized by the United States Department of Education.

(2) A general acute care hospital licensed by the California Department of Public Health.

(3) The American Association for Respiratory Care.

(4) The California Society for Respiratory Care (and all other state societies directly

affi liated with the American Association for Respiratory Care).

(5) The American Medical Association.

(6) The California Medical Association.

(7) The California Thoracic Society.

(8) The American College of Surgeons.

(9) The American College of Chest Physicians.

(10) The American Heart Association.

(11) American Lung Association

(12) Allergy and Asthma Network

(13) Society for Critical Care Medicine

(14) National Asthma Educator Certifi cation Board

(b) Additional CE providers approved to provide live, “real-time” courses include any provider

approved or accredited by:

(1) any entity identifi ed in subdivision (a),

(2) the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education, or

(3) the California Board of Registered Nursing.
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§ 1399.350.5. 1399.352. Law and Professional Ethics Course.

(a) As part of required continuing education, every person licensed under this chapter shall

successfully complete a course in law and professional ethics as provided in section 1399.352.7

1399.357  of this division, during every other license renewal cycle.

(b) Continuing education units earned in accordance with this section shall represent three

hours of continuing education towards the requirement in subdivision (a)(1) of section 1399.350.

units toward the non-clinical practice requirements set forth in section 1399.350(a). However,

the course may be taken for continuing education credit only once during any renewal period.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719.5 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 
3719 and 3719.5, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1399.352.5. Preceptors.

(a) Any person who meets the all of the following criteria may claim continuing education for

active participation in a preceptor role as provided in subdivision (b):

1) Hold a valid, current, and unrestricted license issued under this chapter.

2) Hold a current and valid Registered Respiratory Therapist credential issued by the

National Board for Respiratory Care.

3) Have a minimum of two (2) years of full-time experience practicing as a respiratory care

practitioner.

4) Have completed a preceptor course within the last four years from the date of license

expiration, provided by:

A) the American Association for Respiratory Care,

B) the California Society for Respiratory Care.

C) An acute care facility and employer using either the American Association for

Respiratory or California Society for Respiratory course.

5) Not have any prior or existing personal relationship with the student(s) precepted.

(b) Persons meeting the criteria in subdivision (a) may claim continuing education as follows:

1) Up to two times the listed amount of CE hours earned for successful completion of a

course identifi ed in subdivision (a)(4). The amount of CE claimed per course under this 

subdivision may not exceed six (6) hours for each renewal cycle. 

2) Preceptors responsible for direct supervision and instruction to students in an acute

care setting, may claim the following CE earned during any one renewal cycle period:

A) Five (5) CE  hours for one thousand (1000) to one thousand nine hundred ninety nine

(1999) hours of preceptor supervision and instruction.

B) Ten (10) CE hours for two thousand (2000) to two thousand nine hundred ninety nine

(2999) hours of preceptor supervision and instruction.

C) Fifteen (15) CE hours for three thousand (3000) or more hours of preceptor

supervision and instruction.

D) Preceptors claiming CE credit shall retain records that clearly indicate the student(s)

supervised, the hours precepted on each date and written verifi cation of all hours by 
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the education program’s clinical director for a period of four (4) years from the date of 

instruction.

(c) Instructors who meet the following requirements may claim actual time spent on instruction

up to ten (10) hours of CE for each renewal cycle:

(i) Instruct a course identifi ed in subdivision (a)(4),

(ii) Meet the criteria in subdivision (a), and

(iii) Have practiced full time for a minimum of four (4) years as a respiratory care

practitioner at the time of the instruction of the course identifi ed in subdivision (a).

(d) The CE earned as provided in this section may be counted toward hours required for the

practice leadership requirement as provided in section 1399.350 (a)(1) and toward the hours 

required for live, real-time CE requirement as provided in section 1399.350(b).

Note: Authority cited: Section 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 3719 and 
3719.5, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1399.351. Approved CE Programs.  1399.353. Credentialling and Certifi cation Exams.

(a) Any course or program meeting the criteria set forth in this Article will be accepted by the 

board for CE credit.

(b) Passing an official credentialling or proctored self-evaluation examinations Successful 

completion of an examination leading to one of the following credentials awarded by the 

National Board for Respiratory Care, shall be approved for 15 hours of continuing education 

(CE), for initial credentialling only: as follows:

(1) Adult Critical Care Specialist Specialty Examination (ACCS) - 15 hours;

(2)Certified Pulmonary Function Technologist (CPFT) - 15 CE hours;

(3)Registered Pulmonary Function Technologist (RPFT) - 15 CE hours;

(4)Neonatal/Pediatric Respiratory Care Specialist (NPS) - 15 CE hours;

(5) Sleep Disorders Testing and Therapeutic Intervention Respiratory Care Specialist

(SDS) - 15 hours;

(6) Registered Respiratory Therapist, if not required at the time of initial licensure.

(b) The following certifications are approved for continuing education credit for initial certification

only and for the number of hours given by the provider: 

(1) Pulmonary Rehabilitation Certifi ed (provided by the American Association for 

Respiratory Care (AARC) and the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary 

Rehabilitation) 

(2) Tobacco and Smoking Cessation-Certified (provided by the 

AARC)(3) COPD Educator-Certified (provided by the AARC)

(bc)  Successful completion of the following certification examinations, approved by an entity 
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listed in section 1399.351, shall each be approved for 15 hours of CE for initial certifi cation and 

5 hours of CE for renewal or recertifi cation:

(6) (1) Advanced Cardiac Cardiovascular Life Support (ACLS) - number of CE hours to 

be designated by the provider;

(7) (2) Neonatal Resuscitation Program (NRP); - number of CE hours to be designated 

by the provider; and

(8) (3) Pediatrics Advanced Life Support (PALS) - number of CE hours to be designated 

by the provider.

(9) (4) Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) - number of CE hours to be designated by 

the provider.

(5) Asthma Educator Certified (AE-C) (provided by the National Asthma Educator Certi¿ 

cation Board)

(d) CE credit will not be granted for:

(1) any review and/or preparation courses for credentialling or certification examinations,

(2) basic life support credentialling, or

(3) the recredentialling of any certification not expressly identified in subdivision (c).

(c) Any course including training regarding the characteristics and method of assessment and 
treatment of acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS) meeting the criteria set for in this 
Article, will be accepted by the board for CE credit.
(d)Examinations listed in subdivisions (b)(1) through (b)(5) of this section shall be those offered 
by the National Board for Respiratory Care and each successfully completed examination may 
be counted only once for credit.
(e)Successful completion of each examination listed in subdivisions (b)(6) through (b)(9) of this 
section may be counted only once for credit and must be for the initial certification. See section 
1399.352 for re-certification CE. These programs and examinations shall be provided by an 
approved entity listed in subdivision (h) of Section 1399.352.

(f) The board shall have the authority to audit programs offering CE for compliance with the 

criteria set forth in this Article.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 32 
and 3719, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1399.352. Criteria for Acceptability of Courses. §1399.354.  General Continuing

Education.

Continuing Education (CE) courses related to the role of a health care practitioner or indirectly

related to respiratory care include, but are not limited to the following:

Acceptable courses and programs shall meet the following criteria:

(a) The content of the course or program shall be relevant to the scope of practice of respiratory

care. Credit may be given for a course that is not directly related to clinical practice if the content
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of the course or program relates to any of the following:

(1) Those activities relevant to specialized aspects of respiratory care, which activities include

education, supervision, and management.

(2) Health care cost containment or cost management.

(3) (1) Preventative health services and health promotion, including tobacco and smoking

cessation counseling.

(4) (2) Required abuse reporting.

(5) (3) Other subject matter which is directed by legislation to be included in CE for licensed

healing arts practitioners.

(4) Any course including training regarding the characteristics and method of assessment and

treatment of acquired immune defi ciency syndrome (AIDS).
(6) Re-certification for ACLS, NRP, PALS, and ATLS.
(7) Review and/or preparation courses for credentialing examinations provided by the National 
Board for Respiratory Care, excluding those courses for entry-level or advance level respiratory 
therapy certification.
(b) The faculty shall be knowledgeable in the subject matter as evidenced by:
(1) A degree from an accredited college or university and verifi able experience in the subject 
matter, or
(2) Teaching and/or clinical experience in the same or similar subject matter.
(c) Educational objectives shall be listed.
(d) The teaching methods shall be described, e.g., lecture, seminar, audio-visual, simulation.
(e) Evaluation methods shall document that the objectives have been met.
(f) Each course must be provided in accordance with this Article.
(g) Each course or provider shall hold approval from one of the entities listed in subdivision
(h) from the time the course is distributed or instruction is given through the completion of the
course.
(h) Each course must be provided or approved by one of the following entities. Courses that are
provided by one of the following entities must be approved by the entity’s president, director, or
other appropriate personnel:
(1) Any post-secondary institution accredited by a regional accreditation agency or association 
recognized by the United States Department of Education.
(2) A hospital or health-care facility licensed by the California Department of Health Services.
(3) The American Association for Respiratory Care.
(4) The California Society for Respiratory Care (and all other state societies directly affiliated 
with the American Association for Respiratory Care).
(5) The American Medical Association.
(6) The California Medical Association.
(7) The California Thoracic Society.
(8) The American College of Surgeons.
(9) The American College of Chest Physicians.
(10) Any entity approved or accredited by the California Board of Registered Nursing or the 
Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education.
(i) Course organizers shall maintain a record of attendance of participants, documentation of
participant’s completion, and evidence of course approval for four years.
(j) All program information by providers of CE shall state: “This course meets the requirements
for CE for RCPs in California.”
(k) All course providers shall provide documentation to course participants that includes
participant name, RCP number, course title, course approval identifying information, number of
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hours of CE, date(s), and name and address of course provider.
(l) For quarter or semester-long courses (or their equivalent) completed at any post-secondary 
institution accredited by a regional accreditation agency or association recognized by the 
United States Department of Education, an official transcript showing successful completion of 
the course accompanied by the catalog’s course description shall fulfill the requirements in 
subdivisions (i), (j) and (k).
(m) The board may audit providers offering CE for compliance with the criteria set forth in this 
Article.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 
3719, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1399.352.5. 1399.355.  CE Continuing Education Hours.

The board will accept hours of approved continuing education (CE) as follows:

(a) The number of hours designated by those entities identified in subdivision (h) of Section 

1399.352 1399.351 as it pertains to their own course or a course approved by them.

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), one (1) academic quarter unit is equal to ten (10) CE hours 

and one (1) academic semester unit is equal to fifteen (15) CE hours.

(c) Providers may not grant partial credit for any CE course. Partial credit is defi ned as any time 

segment less than the total designated course duration or time period.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 
3719, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1399.356.  Provider Obligations.

(a) Approved providers shall ensure faculty is knowledgeable in the subject matter as evidenced

by a degree from an accredited college or university and verifiable experience in the subject 

matter, or teaching and/or clinical experience in the same or similar subject matter.

(b) Upon successful completion of a course, continuing education (CE) providers shall provide

documentation to the course participant that includes:

(1) the participant’s name,

(2) the participant’s RCP license number,

(3) the course title,

(4) the course delivery method (e.g. on-line, live-on-line, live-in-person),

(5) the course approval identifying information (for those providers identifi ed in

subdivision (b) of section 1399.351), 

(6) the number of CE hours awarded,

(7) the date CE hours were awarded, and

(8) the name and address of the course provider.

(c) Course providers shall maintain records identified in subdivision (b) for a period of four years

as well as a description and details of the course.

(d) Courses completed at an approved post-secondary institution are exempt from this section

provided the courses are reported on an offi cial transcript.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 
3719, Business and Professions Code.xx
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§ 1399.352.7. § 1399.357. Law and Professional Ethics Course Criteria.
An acceptable course in law and professional ethics shall meet the following criteria and be
approved by the board’s executive or education committee:

(a) The course shall be provided by the American Association for Respiratory Care or the
California Society for Respiratory Care.

(b) The course shall be three hours in length. One hour of instruction shall consist of not less
than 50 minutes of actual classroom time or actual time spent by the licensee completing the
coursework on the internet.

(c) The course shall include:
(1) a course description,
(2) course objectives,
(3) references (as applicable),
(4) legal disclosures (as applicable),
(5) course content,
(6) a post-examination,
(7) an optional survey,
(8) and a certificate of completion with information as identified in subdivision (b) of

section 1399.356. 

(e) The delivery and format of the course shall be user-friendly.

(f) The provider shall not charge more than thirty dollars ($30) for board applicants and sixty
dollars ($60) for board licensees or petitioners for reinstatement.
(g) The provider shall ensure that procedures are in place to address Americans with Disabilities
Act (ADA) requests.

(h) The course title shall be “Law and Professional Ethics.”

(i) The course content shall consist of a minimum of thirty (30) pages of written material and a
minimum of two (2) hours dedicated to professional ethics with a concentration in:

(1) Obligations of licensed respiratory care practitioners to patients under their care and
(2) Responsibilities of respiratory care practitioners to report illegal activities occurring in

the work place.

(j) The course content may also include, as directed by the board, up to one hour of material
with a concentration in:

(1) Current activities of the profession and
(2) Acts that jeopardize licensure and licensure status.

(c) The content of the course shall consist of the following subject areas:
(1) Obligations of licensed respiratory care practitioners to patients under their care;
(2) Responsibilities of respiratory care practitioners to report illegal activities occurring in

the work place, and
(3) Acts that jeopardize licensure and licensure status.

(d) The course shall meet all of the following requirements:
(1) (d) The course shall consist of two (2) hours dedicated to professional ethics and one (1)
hour toward California law. The board may opt to prepare or edit in full or part, any portion of the



- 9 -

Attachment 7d
Meeting Date:  11/1/19

course.
(2) The course title shall be “Law and Professional Ethics.”
(3) Delivery and format of the course shall be user-friendly.
(4) The course will be at least thirty (30) pages of written material with at least twenty (20) test 
questions related to professional ethics and ten (10) related to California law.
(5) Course content must include course description, course objectives, references, scenarios, 
questions, certificate of completion and legal disclosures, as applicable.

(6) (k) The course content shall provide several segments. Each segment must include a 
narrative or discussion, a scenario, and at least one question  and at least one scenario-based 
question requiring critical thinking skills. For each question there must be between three and six 
possible responses with only one correct answer. Each response must include an explanation 
as to why the response is incorrect or correct. The number of questions tied to each segment 
may vary, as each component will differ in length and content.

(7) The course will include at least thirty (30) scenario-based questions that require critical 
thinking skills.
(8) The provider shall submit course test scores, names and other course related information to 
the board, as requested by the board.
(9) The provider shall not charge more than thirty dollars ($30) for board applicants and sixty 
dollars ($60) for board licensees or petitioners.
(10) The provider shall ensure that procedures are in place to address Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA) requests.

(11) (l) The participant shall be allowed one (1) year to complete the course/exam after 
enrollment.

(m) The post examination shall consist of at least thirty (30) questions related to the materials
presented.

(12) (n) The participant shall not be able to exit the post examination once commenced.

(13) (o) The participant shall not have a time limit to take the post examination.

(14) (p) The minimum post examination passing score shall be 70%. The post examination shall
be scored on all cumulative components, not by each section.

(15) (q) As applicable, the provider shall offer and allow participants who failed the initial post
examination to retake the post examination free of charge. There shall be no wait time to retake
the post examination if previously failed.

(16) (r) The course will include a survey, optional to participants, to gather feedback for the
board.

(s) The provider shall submit course test scores, names and other course related information to
the board, as requested by the board. 

(t) The board may opt to prepare or edit in full or part, any portion of the course.

(e) (u) The course is solely the product of the provider and the provider assumes full
responsibility for the course.

(f) (v) The course must be revised once every four years. Each revision must be approved by
the board.

(g) (w) The board’s Education Executive Committee may rescind the approval of a course at any
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time if it believes it has been altered or fi nds that the course does not meet the requirements 
as provided for in this article.

(h) (x) The provider may advertise and or reference that an approved course is “approved” by

the board.

Note: Authority cited: Section 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 3719 and 
3719.5, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1399.353. 1399.358. Audit and Sanctions for Noncompliance.

(a) The board shall audit a random sample of RCPs for compliance with the continuing

education (CE) requirements.

(b) If documentation of the CE requirement is improper or inadequate, or the licensee fails

to provide the requested documentation within 30 days, the license becomes inactive. The

practice of respiratory care, or representation that one is an RCP, is prohibited while the license

is inactive. Practice on an inactive license shall constitute grounds for appropriate disciplinary

action pursuant to the B&P.

(c) Notwithstanding subdivision (b), if the board determines that through no fault of the licensee

the CE completed does not meet the criteria set forth in this article, the board may grant an

extension, not to exceed six months, for the licensee to complete approved CE.

(d) Misrepresentation of compliance shall constitute grounds for disciplinary action.

(e) Documentation supporting compliance with CE requirements shall be available to the board

upon request during the four year period following relicensure.

Note: Authority cited: Section 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 3719, 3719.5 
and 3750, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1399.354. 1399.358.5. Waiver of Requirements.

At the time of making application for renewal of a license, an RCP may request a waiver from 

completion of the continuing education (CE) requirements.  The board shall grant a waiver only 

if the RCP verifi es in writing that, during the two year period immediately prior to the expiration 

date of the license, he or she:

(a) Upon receipt of military orders or other verifi able documentation, the board shall grant a 

waiver of CE if (a) the licensee has Has been absent from California for at least one year during 

the two-year period immediately prior to the expiration date of the license, because of military 

service reasonably preventing completion of the CE requirements; or

(b) Upon receipt of verifi cation by a licensed physician and surgeon, the board shall grant a 

waiver of CE if the licensee has Has been prevented from completing the CE requirements

for reasons of health or other good cause for at least one year during the two-year period 

immediately prior to the expiration date of the license, which includes:

(1) Total medical disability of the RCP for at least one year; or

(2) Total medical disability of an immediate family member for at least one year where the RCP 

has had total responsibility for the care of that family member.

Verifi cation of the disability under subsection (b) shall be verified in writing by a licensed 

physician and surgeon.
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Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 
3719, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1399.355. Renewal After Inactive or Delinquent Status.

(a) For the renewal of an expired license up to more than two years and within three years of 

the date of expiration, the applicant shall provide documentation of completion of the required 

30 hours of CE during the four-year period preceding the application for renewal.

(b) For the renewal of an expired license two years or less from the expiration date, the 

applicant shall provide documentation of completion of the required 15 hours of CE during the 

two-year period preceding the application for renewal.

(c) After a license has been expired for three years, it will be cancelled and the applicant 

must make application just as for an initial license and meet all the current criteria required for 

licensure

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 
3719 and 3774, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1399.356. 1399.359. License Status.

A licensee may request, in writing, to change the status of his/her license as follows:

(a) To change the status of a license from active to inactive, the licensee shall make application 

to the board for such a change.

(b) To change the status of a license from inactive to active, the licensee shall request such in 

writing, pay all current, delinquent and accrued renewal fees, and provide documentation of 

completion of 15 30 hours of CE continuing education during the two-year period preceding the 

request for active status.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 701, 704, 3719 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 
Sections 3719, 3774 and 3775, Business and Professions Code.

§ 1399.381. Fines.

(a) Fines shall be assessed in accordance with the following schedule as provided for by law:

BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE

Maximum Fine

3717 Records from employer $10,000

3731 Title Used by licensee $5,000

3739 Practice during license process $5,000

3750(a) Advertising $5,000

3750(b) Fraud in the procurement of any license   $5,000

3750(c) Knowingly employing unlicensed persons  $15,000

3750(d) Conviction of crime  $5,000

3750(e) Impersonating an applicant in any examination  $5,000

3750(f) Negligence  $5,000

3750(g) Conviction of any violation of division 2  $5,000
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3750(h) Aiding/Abetting person to violate this chapter  $5,000

3750(i) Aiding/abetting person to engage in unlawful practice $5,000

3750(j) Commission of fraudulent, dishonest or corrupt act  $5,000

3750(k) Falsifying/ incorrect/ inconsistent entries in record  $5,000

3750(l) Changing prescriptions/falsifying orders for treatment $5,000

3750(m) Discipline taken by another agency  $5,000

3750(n) Knowing failure to protect patients - infection control  $5,000

3750(o) Incompetence    $5,000

3750(p) Pattern of substandard care    $5,000

3750(q) False statements  $5,000

3750.5 Obtained/possessed/use of drugs    $5,000

3750.6 Production of work permit/pocket license   $5,000

3753.1 Probation monitoring costs    $5,000

3753.5 Cost recovery    $5,000

3754.5 Obtains license by fraud or misrepresentation  $5,000

3755 Unprofessional conduct  $5,000

3758 Employer report on suspension/termination  $10,000

3758.5 RCP report on violation made by other RCP  $5,000

3758.6 Employer report on supervisor  $10,000

3760 Practice without a license/Misrepresentation  $15,000

3761(a) Misrepresentation in claim of license to practice $15,000

3761(b) Knowingly employing an unlicensed person  $15,000

3773(a)(1) License renewal - notice of conviction  $5,000

3773(a)(2) License renewal - identify employer  $5,000

3773(b) License renewal - additional information $5,000

REGULATIONS

1399.304 Current address  $5,000

1399.350 CE requirements  $5,000

1399.350.5 Completion of ethics/professional law course $5,000

1399.360 Unlicensed personnel/home care  $15,000

1399.377 Records from employer  $10,000

1399.378 Licensee reporting  $5,000

1399.379 Employer reporting  $10,000

(b) The methodology for assessing fine amounts shall be for each inspection or investigation made with 

respect to the violation, except as provided below:

(1) The assessment of fine amounts for a violation involving fraudulent billing submitted to an insurance 

company, the Medi-Cal program, or Medicare, shall be based on each violation or count.

(2) The assessment of fine amounts for a violation of section 3717 of the B&P or section 1399.377 of 

these regulations, shall be based upon each incident in which the employer fails to respond to a request 

to inspect or produce records as provided for in section 3717 of the B&P or section 1399.377 of these 

regulations.

(3) The assessment of fine amounts for a violation of section 3758, 3758.5 or 3758.6 of the B&P, or
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section 1399.378 or 1399.379 of these regulations, shall be based upon each person and/or 

each incident required to be reported to the board.

(4) The assessment of fi ne amounts for a violation of section 3750(c), 3760, 3761(a), or 3761(b)

of the B&P or section 1399.360 of these regulations, shall be based upon each person who acts 

in the capacity of, or engages in the business of, or represents themselves as, a respiratory 

care practitioner, at each facility or location.

(c) Administrative fi nes collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited into the board’s 

special fund.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 125.9 and 3722, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 
125.9, 3717, 3731, 3739, 3750, 3750.5, 3750.6, 3753.1, 3753.5, 3754.5, 3755, 3758, 3758.5, 3758.6, 
3760, 3761, 3766, 3767 and 3773, Business and Professions Code.
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