LICENSURE AND THE APPLICATION PROCESS







Licensure and the Application Process

Education

What are the minimum education requirements for licensure?

- Graduation from a program approved by the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care.
- An associate degree.

What happens after I graduate?

- Request that your college's admissions and records office send your official transcript(s) to the Respiratory Care Board (RCB). Transcripts can also be sent electronically by either the college or a recognized third-party vendor such as Parchment, National Student Clearing House, etc., to rcbtranscripts@dca.ca.gov.
- Make sure that your transcripts show you were awarded an associate degree.

Examination

Applicants must take and pass all parts of the Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) Credentialing Examinations, which include the Therapist Multiple Choice (TMC) and Clinical Simulation Examination (CSE). These examinations are currently administered by the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC) via a contractual agreement with RCB.

How do I apply for the examination?

Applicants schedule their examinations directly with NBRC. You can file online at **www.nbrc.org**, or you may submit an application to the NBRC office in Overland Park, Kansas.

The examination process:

- Currently, the TMC and CSE examinations are administered via computer at 30 locations throughout California: Agoura Hills, Arcata, Atascadero, Bakersfield, Burbank, Calimesa, Carson, Diamond Bar, El Monte–Santa Fe Springs, Fresno, Glendale, Irvine, Lawndale, Long Beach, Modesto (2), Redding, Riverside (2), Sacramento, San Diego (2), San Francisco, Santa Clara, San Jose, Santa Rosa, Union City, Ventura, Visalia, and Walnut Creek.
- Results of the examination are provided the same day.
- The NBRC electronically submits the examination scores to RCB on a weekly basis.

Filing an Application for Licensure

Applicants can submit their application for licensure to RCB up to 90 days before meeting the education requirements or once education requirements have been met. New graduates are encouraged to submit their applications as soon as possible (but not earlier than the 90-day time period) to allow RCB ample time to process the application. RCB highly encourages all applicants to apply online for the fastest processing times. To apply, you need to register for a **BreEZe** account. For more information about application requirements and establishing a BreEZe account, please visit RCB's website at **www.rcb.ca.gov** and select the "Applicants" tab.



REMEMBER:

You are signing your application under penalty of perjury. If you are unsure whether to disclose something on your application, call RCB's office at (866) 375-0386.



REMEMBER: Before you submit your application packet, make sure that you **complete all the forms and include the application fee!** Incomplete items will be returned to you and will delay the process of your application!

Fingerprinting and background checks

All applicants are subject to background checks. RCB requires each applicant to submit fingerprints for state and federal processing. For most applicants, the background check requirement is satisfied upon receipt of fingerprint clearances from the California Department of Justice and the FBI. If a "rap sheet" is received in response to the fingerprint submission, the applicant's file will be forwarded to RCB's Enforcement Unit for review.

Enforcement review

Having a prior criminal history does not preclude you from obtaining a license from RCB. Each applicant for licensure must submit their fingerprints to the California Department of Justice and the FBI for a criminal history background check. Upon notification of an applicant's criminal history, if any, RCB will open an investigation to determine whether there is a basis to deny the application for licensure.

Effective July 1, 2020, RCB's authority to deny an application based on certain criminal convictions was restricted. (**Business and Professions Code section 480**)

Specifically, RCB cannot deny an application on the basis of a conviction if:

 The conviction has been dismissed pursuant to Penal Code sections 1203.4, 1203.4a, 1203.41, 1203.42, or 1203.425 (or another state's equivalent). You may be asked to provide proof of this. The conviction(s) occurred more than seven years from the date of the application, or if the applicant was convicted of a crime and incarcerated, more than seven years from the time the applicant was released from incarceration.

NOTE: The preceding seven-year limitation shall not apply in either of the following situations:

- The applicant was convicted of a serious felony, as defined in **Penal Code section 1192.7**.
- The applicant was convicted of a crime for which registration is required pursuant to paragraph (2) or (3) of subdivision (d) of Penal Code section 290.

Unless restricted, RCB may deny an application for licensure if the applicant was convicted of a crime substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of a respiratory care practitioner. In assessing a conviction, RCB must consider whether the crime is substantially related to the respiratory care profession, and whether an applicant has made a showing of rehabilitation. California Code of Regulations section 1399.370 sets out the substantial relationship criteria used by RCB to determine whether the crime is substantially related to the practice of respiratory care. California Code of Regulations section 1399.372 sets out the criteria for evidence considered by RCB in making a determination of rehabilitation. To view frequently asked questions regarding how criminal history may impact the application process and licensure, visit RCB's website at www.rcb.ca.gov, select the "Applicants" tab and then click on the link entitled "Applicants With Prior Criminal History."

Work permits

A work permit is issued for a period of up to 180 days, generally within three days from the time RCB receives a request from an eligible applicant. To be eligible for a work permit, RCB must receive a complete application, background check clearance, verification of graduation or certification of upcoming graduation by a program director, and verification of your CRT credential. You will be notified via email once you become eligible for a work permit. If you believe you are eligible and you have not received notification, please contact RCB at rcbinfo@dca.ca.gov.

Ethics course requirement

All applicants must successfully complete a three-hour, RCB-approved law and professional ethics course prior to licensure. The course covers the following subject areas:

- Obligations of licensed RCPs to patients under their care.
- Acts that jeopardize licensure and licensure status.
- Responsibilities of RCPs to report illegal activities occurring in the workplace.

Applicants must provide RCB with a copy of a certificate verifying successful completion of the course prior to licensure. Please visit RCB's website for links to the approved courses.



Initial Licensure

Once RCB receives all required documentation, you will be issued your RCP license. Initial licenses are issued for a period of 13–24 months depending upon the issuing month of the license and the applicant's birth month. You will be required to complete 15 hours of continuing education (CE) the first time you renew.

After your initial license expires:

- You must renew your license every two years to maintain active status.
- You must complete 30 hours of continuing education to hold an active license.
- If you allow your license to expire, you will have three
 years from the expiration date to renew. If you do not
 renew, the license is cancelled and cannot be renewed
 or reinstated.

Still have questions?

Contact us!

Respiratory Care Board 3750 Rosin Court, Suite 100 Sacramento, CA 95834

Tel: (916) 999-2190 Toll-free: (866) 375-0386 Fax: (916) 263-7311

Website: www.rcb.ca.gov
Email: rcbinfo@dca.ca.gov







www.rcb.ca.gov





REVISED: 1/23