Respiratory Care Board of California

License Renewal FAQ's

When does my license actually expire?

How soon can I renew my license?

Where do I send my license renewal?

How long will it take to process my renewal?

What if I renew after the expiration?

When will I receive my renewed pocket license?

Can I continue to practice even though I have not received my renewed pocket license?

What is the most common cause for delay when renewing a license?

License Renewal FAQ's

When does my license actually expire?
If you fail to renew your license on or before your expiration date, your license will expire at midnight on the date of expiration.

How soon can I renew my license?
Renewal notices are mailed to the last address of record approximately 75 days prior to expiration. Your renewal application and payment may be submitted as soon as you receive the renewal notice in the mail. To ensure receipt of your renewed license in a timely manner, you are strongly encouraged to submit your completed renewal application at least 30 days prior to your current license expiration.

Where do I send my license renewal?
All applications for renewal must be sent directly to the Department of Consumer Affairs, P.O. Box 942528, Sacramento, California 94258-0528. The Board recommends that you mail your renewal application by certified mail after making copies of all documents.

How long will it take to process my renewal?
The Department of Consumer Affairs' (DCA's) estimated time frame for posting the receipt of renewal payments is 15 working days. Why does it take so long? DCA's Automated Cashiering Unit process between 5,000 - 10,000 renewal applications daily, for all licensing agencies within the Department. As a result, the Board is unable to confirm receipt of your renewal application until DCA has posted it to your licensing record.

What if I renew after the expiration?
Licensees submitting a late license renewal application will be assessed a delinquent fee and may be subject to the issuance of a citation and fine if unlicensed practice occurred during the period the license lapsed.

When will I receive my renewed pocket license?
If you have complied with all renewal requirements, your renewed pocket license is printed and forwarded to the Board office for review and mailing. Licenses are usually mailed 10-14 days after the posting of your renewal payment.

If you have not complied with all renewal requirements, additional steps must be taken and your license renewal will be substantially delayed.

Can I continue to practice even though I have not received my renewed pocket license?
Once your license has expired, you do not have the authority to practice respiratory care until DCA receives, processes and posts your renewal application, required continuing education units and your renewal and delinquent fees.

However, pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 121, if you mail your completed renewal form on or before your license expiration date, you may continue to practice even though you have not received your renewed pocket license, at the discretion of your employer.

Employers have the right to request proof from you that you are properly licensed to practice and some employers require proof of renewal immediately. Keep this and the estimated processing time of 4-6 weeks in mind when renewing your license.

Employers are always encouraged to verify the status of all Respiratory Care Practitioner licenses. You can verify licensure status by contacting the Board via e-mail at rcbinfo@dca.ca.gov, or via the Board's web site at www.rcb.ca.gov. The online license verification system is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Licensing records are updated daily, Monday through Friday.

What is the most common cause for delay when renewing a license?
The most common cause for delay when renewing a license is the omission of information. To avoid a delay, make sure your renewal application is complete. Carefully read the instructions located on Part 1, then provide all required information on Part 2 (both front and back) and submit it along with your fee. Failure to provide required information on a license renewal application results in a "hold" being placed on the license. These "holds" result in substantial delays, and cannot be removed until all deficiencies have been rectified.