
  

            

     

 

         

 

 

 

 

      

Respiratory Care Board of California 
3750 Rosin Court, Suite 100, Sacramento, CA 95834 

Telephone: (916) 999-2190 Toll-Free: (866) 375-0386 Website: www.rcb.ca.gov E-mail: rcbinfo@dca.ca.gov

 Respiratory Care Practitioner
 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

1.	 Applicant Category and Applicable Fee (Check one): 

‘ Examination Candidate (Application fee: $300) 

‘ NBRC Credentialed (Application fee: $300) 

‘ Education Waiver Candidate (Application fee: $300) [Please see instructions. Must 
meet the waiver criteria set forth in California Code of Regulations section 1399.330] 

Please check here if 
           you are the spouse or 
domestic partner of someone 
on active duty in the armed 

forces or the California 
National Guard 

Paste a color passport 
style 2" X 2" 

photograph here. 

Photograph must have 
been taken within the last 

60 days. 

Make fees noted above, payable to the RCB and submit with this application.  If Group or cropped pictures 
will NOT be accepted.submitting fingerprint cards (in lieu of Live Scan), add $49. 

2.	 Name ____________________________________________________________________________________
          Last  First	                             Middle 

3.	 Mailing Address ___________________________________________________________________________
 Number/Street/Route City	 State      Zip 

4.	 Residence Address 
(if different than above)  ____________________________________________________________________________

 Number/Street/Route City	 State      Zip 

5. Day Telephone No.: ( ) _____________________ Alternate No. (optional): ( ) _____________________ 

6.	 E-Mail Address (optional): ___ _______________________________________________________________ 

7.	 Date of Birth: ______/______/_______ Social Security Number: _______________________________ 

8.	 PROGRAM DIRECTOR CERTIFICATION (Please have your respiratory care program director complete this section ONLY 
if you will have earned your Associate Degree and completed your respiratory therapy program in the next 90 days.) 

The undersigned certifies that the records of this institution show that __________________________________
 Student’s Name 

has attended ________________________________________________ and is scheduled to 
Institution Name 

complete his/her respiratory care program on _______________________ and will have/has met all the 

requirements for the awarding of an Associate Degree on/as of  ____________________ (provided all course 

work currently enrolled in is satisfactory and complete). 	 EMBOSS SCHOOL SEAL HERE 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the student listed above will
complete our respiratory care program and has met the requirements for the awarding of an Associate Degree
on the dates specified above. I understand that should the student not graduate, he/she is ineligible for the
licensing examination and the Board should be notified. 

Signed ____________________________________________this ______day of________________, _______
Program Director Signature	  Day  Month  Year 

mailto:rcbinfo@dca.ca.gov
http:www.rcb.ca.gov


9.	 Completed Respiratory Education Program Information 

Institution Name: ___________________________________________ Date (to be) Completed: ____________ 

10. Degree Information (List additional degree information on a separate sheet of paper and submit with application) 

Institution Name: ___________________________________ Degree (to be) Awarded: ___________________ 

Major: ___________________________________________ Date (to be) Awarded: _____________________ 

Institution Name: ___________________________________ Degree (to be) Awarded: ___________________ 

Major: ___________________________________________ Date (to be) Awarded: _____________________ 

An OFFICIAL copy of your transcript (from each institution reflecting completion of your respiratory care program and 
the awarding of a minimum of an Associate Degree) must be sent from the institution DIRECTLY to the Board. 

11. If you have ever been known by any other name(s), including your maiden name, please list the full name(s) and 
date(s) of use below (List additional names and dates of use on a separate sheet of paper and submit with application): 

Full name: _________________________________________ Dates of Use (to/from)_____________________ 

Full name: _________________________________________ Dates of Use (to/from) ____________________ 

Full name: _________________________________________ Dates of Use (to/from) ____________________ 

12. Have you previously applied for or been issued a certificate or license with the 
Respiratory Care Board of California? 

13. Have you ever applied for or been issued a registration, certificate or license to 
practice respiratory care in any other state? 

14. Have you ever applied for or been issued a registration, certificate or license to 
practice any other healing art in California or any other state? 

15. Have you previously taken the CRT or RRT credentialing exam or any other 
licensing exam? 

_____Yes _____No 

_____Yes _____No 

_____Yes _____No 

_____Yes _____No 

16. If you answered YES to any question from number 12 through number 15, provide complete information in the
following chart (List additional information on a separate sheet of paper and submit with application): 

If you ever held a registration, certificate or license in another state you must contact the issuing agency and request a 

Registration, 
Certification, 
License Type 

Approximate 
Date of 

Application 

Approx. Date 
of Reg., Cert., 
Lic. Issuance 

State or 
Country where 
Reg., Cert, or 
Lic. was Issued 

Exam Name 
or Type 

Passed/ 
Failed 

Approximate 
Exam Date 

State or Country 
where Exam was 

Taken 

"license verification" be sent directly to the Board. If you hold a CRT, or RRT credential, you must contact the NBRC (Web 
site: www.nbrc.org /telephone: (913) 599-4200) and request a "credential verification" be sent directly to the Board.  

http:www.nbrc.org


17. List ALL Driver License Numbers issued within the last 10 YEARS (current or expired): 
(List additional licenses on a separate sheet of paper and submit with application) 

License No.:_________________________ Issuing State:________________ Expiration Date: ______________ 

License No.:_________________________ Issuing State:________________ Expiration Date: ______________ 

License No.:_________________________ Issuing State:________________ Expiration Date: ______________ 

Original Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) printout(s) showing 10-year histories (unless the license was held for a 
shorter period of time) MUST be submitted with the application for all licenses noted above. 

ATTENTION TO APPLICANTS EVER ISSUED A DRIVER LICENSE IN CALIFORNIA 
Approximately 50% of all DMV records submitted to the Board as part of the application process for respiratory care 
licensure are not accepted. This delays the processing of your application and you will be required to resubmit a request to 
DMV to obtain the correct record. 

You must request and obtain the "H-6" Driving History Record from DMV and submit with your application. 

18. Have you ever been convicted* in any state court, federal court or foreign country 
of: 

(a) a citation (including Vehicle Code citations**) _____Yes _____No 

(b) a misdemeanor (including ALL Vehicle Code violations) _____Yes _____No 

(c) a felony (including ALL Vehicle Code violations) _____Yes _____No 

* A conviction following a plea of nolo contendere is deemed a conviction
 ** You are not required to report minor traffic violations (i.e. speeding, running traffic stop, illegal parking, etc.) unless 
the violation was a misdemeanor or felony. Do not disclose juvenile court or convictions two years or older under H&S 
Code sections 11357 (b), (c), (d), (e), or section 11360(b). You are, however, required to include any other violation 
that is in any way related to drugs or alcohol (i.e., reckless driving, wet reckless, driving under the influence, etc.) Any 
other citation that was not a violation of the Vehicle Code must be reported.  If in doubt, report the information to avoid 
perjuring your application. 

19. Exclusive of juvenile court adjudications and criminal charges dismissed under 
section 1000.3 of the California Penal Code, or equivalent non-California laws, or 
convictions under sections 11357 (b), (c), (d), (e) or section 11360(b) of the _____Yes _____No 
California Health and Safety code which are two years or older, have you had 
any other charge or conviction that was set aside or expunged from the record of 
the court? 

20. Do you have a medical condition or does your current use of chemical substances in 
any way impair or limit your ability to conduct with safety to the public the 
practice of respiratory care? _____Yes _____No 

21. Has any disciplinary action ever been taken by any federal, state or other 
governmental agency or other country against any professional or vocational 
registration, certificate or license you now hold or have held in the past? _____Yes _____No 

22. Have you ever been terminated by or resigned from a medical facility or registry in 
lieu of disciplinary action? _____Yes _____No 

23. Have you ever been denied registration, a certificate or a license to practice a 
business or profession by any federal, state, or other governmental agency or 
other country? _____Yes _____No 



_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________ _________________ 

24. Have you ever been denied permission to practice respiratory therapy or any 
other healing arts profession by any federal, state, or other governmental agency 
or other country? 

25. Have you ever been denied permission to take a registration, certification or 
licensing examination by any federal, state, or other governmental agency or 
other country? 

26. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license to practice in the healing arts in 
this state or any other state? 

_____Yes 

_____Yes 

_____Yes 

_____No 

_____No 

_____No 

If you answered YES to any questions numbered from 18 through 26, you MUST submit a full and complete explanation 
for each YES answer or each conviction on the enclosed “BACKGROUND STATEMENT” form. 

In addition, in order to process your application, you must submit certified copies of all applicable: 
* arrest records that resulted in convictions 
* court records and other legal documents stating convictions, final disposition and order 
* if still serving any type of probation, letters of compliance from probation officers 
* dates of treatment, intake/exit assessments, letters from counselors verifying successful completion
 of substance abuse program(s) 

* letters and legal documentation related to the denial or disciplinary action against any registration, 
certificate or license 

* any other legal and rehabilitative documents 

OPTIONAL QUESTION: Where did you first learn about the respiratory care profession? (Please check all that apply) 

_____ Career Fair _____ High School _____Personal Experience  _____ College _____ Other 

Comments:____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Penalty of Perjury Certification 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information contained in this 
application and copies of all documents submitted with the application are true and correct and that I have read 
and understand the disclosure statements provided in the directions for this application.  I understand that if I do not 
pass the examination on my first attempt, all rights and privileges to practice as a respiratory care practitioner 
applicant automatically cease. I understand that I must possess a valid license to practice respiratory care in the 
State of California. I hereby grant the Board permission to verify any information contained in this application. 

Applicant’s Signature Date 

(04/13) 
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