Respiratory Care Board of California
3750 Rosin Court, Suite 100, Sacramento, CA 95834 Attach a color passport
Phone: (916)999-2190 Toll-Free: (866)375-0386

Website: www.rcb.ca.gov E-mail: rchinfo@dca.ca.gov

style 2” X 2” photograph

here.
Respiratory Care Practitioner

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE Photograph must have been

taken within the last 60
days.
Group or cropped pictures
will NOT be accepted.

The application fee is $300. A check or money order can be made payable
to the RCB and should be submitted with this application.
If you are submitting fingerprint cards (in lieu of Live Scan), add $49.

= Are you the spouse or domestic partner of someone on active duty in

the armed forces or the California National Guard? (] vesLINo
= Have you ever served or are you currently serving in the Unites States Military? | ] Yes| |No
L. Applicant Category (check one) g

[ ] Examination Candidate [ ] NBRC Credentialed [ ] Education Waiver Candidate o cecton 13959501

Personal Information:
2. Name:

Last First Middle Suffix
3. Mailing Address:

Number/Street/Route City State Zip
4. Residence Address:
(If different than above)

Number/Street/Route City State Zip
5. Day Telephone No.: ( ) Alternate No. (optional): ( )
6. E-Mail Address:

Social Security Number or
7. Date of Birth: / / Individual Taxpayer ID Number:

MM DD YYYY XXX - XX - XXXX
8. If you have ever been known by any other name(s), including your maiden name, please list the full name(s)
and date(s) of use below (List additional names and dates of use on a separate sheet of paper and submit with
application):

Full name: Dates of Use (to/from):
Full name: Dates of Use (to/from):
Full name: Dates of Use (to/from):

9. Program Director Certification (Please have your respiratory care program director complete this section ONLY if
you will earn your Associate Degree and complete your respiratory therapy program within the next 90 days.)

The undersigned certifies that the records of this institution show that has attended

Student’s Name

and is scheduled to complete his/her respiratory care program on

Institution Name

and will have/has met all the requirements for the awarding of an Associate Degree on/as of

(provided all course work currently enrolled in is satisfactory and complete).
EMBOSS SCHOOL SEAL HERE

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the student listed above will
complete our respiratory care program and has met the requirements for the awarding of an Associate Degree on
the dates specified above. | understand that should the student not graduate, he/she is ineligible for the licensing
examination and the Board should be notified.

Signed this day of :

Program Director Signature Day Month Year
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Education and Additional License Information:
An OFFICIAL copy of your transcript (from each institution reflecting completion of your respiratory care program
and the awarding of a minimum of an Associate Degree) must be sent from the institution DIRECTLY to the Board.

Please complete both #10 and #11 regarding education information.
10. Respiratory Education Program Information:

Institution Name: Date (to be) Completed:

11. Degree Information (List additional degree information on a separate sheet of paper and submit with application.)

Degree (to be) Awarded:
Date (to be) Awarded:

Institution Name:

Major:

Degree (to be) Awarded:
Major: Date (to be) Awarded:

If you have ever held a registration, certificate or license in another state you must contact the issuing agency and
request a “license verification” be sent directly to the Board. If you hold a CRT or RRT credential, you must contact
the NBRC [www.nbrc.org / Phone: (888) 341-4811] and request a “credential verification” be sent directly to the

Board. Please answer the questions below.
12. Have you previously applied for or been issued a certificate or license with the

Institution Name:

Respiratory Care Board of California? Yes No
13. Have you ever applied for or been issued a registration, certificate, or license to

practice respiratory care in any other state? Yes No
14. Have you ever applied for or been issued a registration, certificate, or license to

practice any other healing art in California or any other state? Yes No
15. Have you previously taken the CRT or RRT credentialing exam or any other

licensing exam? Yes No

16. If you answered YES to any of the questions numbered from 12 to 15, provide complete information in the
following charts (List additional information on a separate sheet of paper and submit with application):
(#12-14) (#15)

. . . Approx. Date | State or Country State or
Reglls.trat!on, Approximate of Reg., where Reg., Exam Name or | Passed/ | Approximate | Country where
Certification, Date of ; : ;

. L Cert., Lic. Cert., or Lic. Type Failed Exam Date Exam was
License Type Application
Issuance was Issued Taken

Driver License Information:

17. List ALL Driver License Numbers issued within the last 10 years (current or expired):

Original Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) printout(s) showing 10-year histories (unless the license was held for a
shorter period of time) MUST be submitted with the application for all licenses noted below. (List additional licenses
on a separate sheet of paper and submit with application.)

License No.: Issuing State: Expiration Date:
License No.: Issuing State: Expiration Date:
License No.: Issuing State: Expiration Date:

ATTENTION APPLICANTS EVER ISSUED A DRIVER LICENSE IN CALIFORNIA: Approximately 50% of all DMV records
submitted to the Board as part of the application process for respiratory care licensure are not accepted. This delays the
processing of your application and you will be required to resubmit a request to DMV to obtain the correct record. You must
request and obtain the “H-6" Driving History Record from DMV and submit with your application.
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Background Information:

18.  Have you ever been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any
offense in the United States or a foreign country?

(a) a citation or infraction __ Yes _ No
(b) a misdemeanor Yes No
(c) a felony Yes No

NOTE: You are not required to report minor traffic violations (e.g. speeding
tickets, illegal parking, or expired meter citations, etc.). However, you are
required to disclose any other traffic violations that are in any way
connected to the use of drugs or alcohol (e.g. driving under the influence,
wet or dry reckless, driving on a suspended license, etc.).
NOTE: You are not required to disclose convictions that were adjudicated in
the juvenile court or convictions two years or older under California Health
and Safety Code sections 11357(b), (c), (d), (e), or section 11360(b).
19. Have you ever had a conviction expunged, dismissed, or set aside by any
court? Yes No

NOTE: You must disclose any convictions that were expunged or set aside
pursuant to California Penal Code section 1203.4 or equivalent non-
California laws.

NOTE: You are not required to disclose any criminal charges that were
dismissed pursuant to California Penal Code section 1000.3 or equivalent
non-California laws.

20. Is any criminal action pending against you, or are you currently awaiting

judgment and sentencing following entry of a plea or jury verdict? Yes No
21. Do you have a medical condition or does your current use of chemical

substances in any way impair or limit your ability to conduct with safety to

the public the practice of respiratory care? Yes No

22. Has any disciplinary action ever been taken by any federal, state, or other
governmental agency or other country against any professional or

vocational registration, certificate, or license you now hold or have held in Yes No
the past?

23. Have you ever been terminated by or resigned from a medical facility or
registry in lieu of disciplinary action? Yes No

24. Have you ever been denied registration, a certificate or a license to

practice a business or profession by any federal, state, or other

governmental agency or other country? Yes No
25. Have you ever been denied permission to practice respiratory therapy or

any other healing arts profession by any federal, state, or other

governmental agency or other country? Yes No
26. Have you ever been denied permission to take a registration, certification,

or licensing examination by any federal, state, or other governmental

agency or other country? Yes No

27. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license to practice in the healing
arts in this state or any other state? Yes No

If you answered YES to any questions numbered from 18 through 27, you MUST submit a full and complete
explanation for each YES answer or each conviction on the enclosed “Background Statement” form. You must also
submit certified copies of all applicable documentation stated on the “Background Statement” for the Board to
process your application.

Statement of Understanding:
l, , the undersigned do hereby read and understand the following:

Name

Please initial each numbered paragraph on page 4. By initialing the following humbered paragraphs, and by
signing the bottom of page 4 of this application, you certify under penalty of perjury that you have read and
understand this statement of understanding. You have also received a copy of the current statutes and
regulations governing the practice of respiratory care. Further, you understand that violations of law, unauthorized
or unlawful practice and misrepresentation are grounds for disciplinary action.
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28. | The Respiratory Care Board of California (Board) has statutory authority regarding the enforcement and
administration of the Respiratory Care Practice Act (RCPA).

29. | No respiratory care practitioner applicant may begin practice until a VALID work permit is obtained from the
Board.

30. During the application period, the applicant shall be identified as a "RESPRIATORY CARE PRACTITIONER
APPLICANT" and may only practice with a valid work permit while under the direct and immediate supervision
of a licensed respiratory care practitioner.

31. | If an applicant FAILS the Therapist Multiple Choice examination, the work permit becomes INVALID exactly
one week from the date the examination was taken.

32. | No person who has not been licensed by the Board shall engage in the practice of respiratory care despite
holding a CRT or RRT credential.

33. | No person shall engage in the practice of respiratory care or represent him/herself as such through verbal
claim, sign advertisement, letterhead, business card, badge/name tag, or other representation unless he or
she holds a valid license issued by the Board.

34. | on or before the birthday of a licensed practitioner in every other year, following the initial licensure, the Board
shall mail a renewal notice to the latest address of record. A license that is not renewed by the expiration date
becomes invalid and subject to delinquent fees.

35. | Torenew a license, each respiratory care practitioner shall report compliance with the continuing education
requirement. The license shall not be renewed or reinstated until such verification is received. Each licensee
may be selected to participate in a random CE audit and must provide evidence of compliance as disclosed.

36. | Torenew an expired license within three (3) years of the date of expiration, the applicant shall provide
documentation of completion of the required continuing education and pay all past renewal and delinquent
fees. Once a license has expired for three years, the license is deemed cancelled and cannot be renewed.

37. | No person or corporation shall knowingly employ a person who alleges he/she is a respiratory care practitioner
without a license granted under the RCPA.

38. | If a licensee has knowledge that another person may be in violation of, or has violated, any of the statutes or
regulation administered by the Board, the licensee shall report this information to the Board in writing and shall
cooperate with the Board in furnishing information or assistance as may be required.

39. Any employer of a respiratory care practitioner shall report to the Board the suspension or termination for
cause of any practitioner in their employ. "Suspension of termination for cause" is defined to mean suspension
or termination from employment for any of the following reasons:

1) Use of controlled substances or alcohol to such an extent that it impairs the ability to safely practice
respiratory care.

2) Unlawful sale of controlled substances or other prescription items.

3) Patient neglect, physical harm to a patient, or sexual contact with a patient.

4) Falsification of medical records.

5) Gross incompetence or negligence.

6) Theft from patients, other employees, or the employer.

40. | Each applicant and licensee must report, in writing, any and all changes of address to the Respiratory Care
Board within 14 days of such a change.

Optional Question:
Where did you first learn about the respiratory care profession? (Please check all that apply)

Career Fair High School Personal Experience College Other

Comments:

Penalty of Perjury Certification: | declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the
information contained in this application and copies of all documents submitted with the application are true and correct and
that | have read and understand the disclosure statements provided in the directions for this application. | understand that if |
do not pass the Therapist Multiple Choice examination on my first attempt, all rights and privileges to practice as a respiratory
care practitioner applicant automatically cease. | understand that | must possess a valid license to practice respiratory care in
the State of California. | hereby grant the Board permission to verify any information contained in this application.

Applicant’s Signature Date
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