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APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE OVERVIEW AND CHECKLIST
 

‘ 1.	 Complete the Application for Licensure form. 

‘ 2.	 Complete the “Statement of Understanding” form. 

‘ 3.	 If you ever held or now hold a driver’s license in California, complete the “Request for your own Driver 
License/Identification Card” It is recommended that you personally visit a DMV office, rather than mail the 
form, to receive the proper “H-6" DMV History Report. If you are not specific in requesting the “H-6" report, 
DMV will issue you a report that is not accepted by the Board.  The fee for this report is approximately $5. 
(If you have held a license in other state(s) you will also need to obtain your entire driving history directly 
from each state(s) Department of Motor Vehicles - up to 10 years).  Your driving history record must be an 
official/certified document from the DMV you are requesting the information from. 

‘ 4.	 Complete the “Background Statement” form if you answered Yes to any question numbered 18-27 on the 
“Application for Licensure” form. You must also attach required documentation as directed. 

‘ 5.	 Approximately 2 weeks before you send your application to the Board, visit a participating law enforcement 
agency and request the fingerprint “Live Scan” service.  The cost will vary, but is generally $49. All applicants 
applying from out-of-state MUST submit 2 fingerprint cards along with a $49 processing fee, as Live Scan is 
only available to applicants being fingerprinted in California at a recognized Live Scan facility. 

‘ 6.	 Obtain a 2 x 2 passport photo (photo must be taken within 60 days prior to filing your application). 
Adhere the photo to the front of the Application for Licensure form as indicated.  Group or cropped 
photographs will not be accepted. Approximate cost: $10. 

‘ 7.	 Submit your complete application to the Board either once you have met the education requirements or up 
to 90 days prior to meeting the education requirements (completion of an approved respiratory care 
program AND the awarding of a minimum of an Associate Degree). New graduates are encouraged to 
submit their applications as soon as possible (but not earlier than the 90-day time period) to allow ample 
time to process the application. Your complete application includes: 

* Application for Licensure form 
* Statement of Understanding form 
* H-6 DMV History Report (and all other driving history reports from other states, if applicable) 
* Second copy of Live Scan form (if applicable) 
* Background Statement form and all required documentation (if applicable) 
* Check or money order (for the appropriate fee as indicated on the Application for Licensure form). 

‘ 8.	 After you have met the education requirements, request your college or university to send “official transcripts” 
directly to the Board. Be sure the transcript(s) reflect(s) the awarding of a minimum of an Associate Degree 
and completion of your respiratory care program. Approximate cost: free or up to $15. 

‘ 9.	 If you have already taken and passed the CRT or RRT exam or hold a registration, certificate or license in 
any state for any health care profession, contact the issuing agency and request a “Verification” of licensure 
or credentialing be sent directly to the Board. Cost for credential verification $5 with active membership 
and $20 if membership is non-active; Cost for verification of licensure: varies greatly from state to state. 

‘ 10.	 If you need to take the exam, follow the instructions on the enclosed “Exam Scheduling Information” form. 
Once you meet the education requirements, you will need to schedule your examination. 

‘ 11.	 Work permits allow an applicant to work under the direct supervision of a licensed respiratory care 
practitioner. “Under direct supervision” means assigned to a licensed respiratory care practitioner who is 
on duty and immediately available in the assigned patient care area.  Any person working with a work 
permit shall identify him/herself as a “Respiratory Care Practitioner Applicant.” 



A Work Permit will be issued for a period of 90 days, generally within 10 days from the time the Board 
receives: 

* a complete application (as provided in number 7), 
* the required fingerprint clearance(s) or if criminal, disciplinary or substance abuse exists, the Board’s 

Enforcement Unit must determine that a work permit may be issued, 
* verification of graduation or certification of upcoming graduation by program director which is 

completed on the front page of the Application for Licensure form, and 
* verification of your credential if you have already taken and passed the CRT or RRT examination. 

If at the time the Board receives the above documentation and the application is complete for licensure, 
rather than issue a work permit, the Board will process your application for licensure (see number 13). 

Work permits are issued for a 90 day period to allow you sufficient time to take your examination and 
request your official transcript(s) be sent to the Board.  Work permits will not be extended except in 
extremely rare situations. 

‘ 12.	 All applicants must successfully complete a Board-approved Law and Professional Ethics Course prior to 
licensure. The Board has approved two law and professional ethics courses, developed independently by 
the California Society for Respiratory Care (CSRC) and the American Association for Respiratory Care 
(AARC), which are available via the Internet (the CSRC also provides “live” sessions on designated dates). 
Each of the approved courses are unique, though they both are 3-hours in length and consist of the 
following subject areas: 

* Obligations of licensed respiratory care practitioners to patients under their care; 
* Responsibilities of respiratory care practitioners to report illegal activities occurring in the workplace, and 
* Acts that jeopardize licensure and licensure status. 

Only ONE law and professional ethics course is required to be completed prior to licensure (either the 
CSRC’s or AARC’s course). Before deciding which course to take, you are encouraged to visit each 
providers’ website to review additional information pertaining to the administration of each course.  You 
can then select the course provider that best meets your individual needs. 

Prior to licensure, you must provide the Board with a copy of a Certificate of Completion, from either the 
AARC or CSRC, verifying successful completion of the mandatory course.  Links to both courses are 
available via the Board’s website at www.rcb.ca.gov or you may contact each provider as follows: 

AARC	 CSRC 
(972) 243-2272 (888) 730-2772 
www.aarc.org www.csrc.org 

‘ 13.	 Once the Board receives all required documentation for licensure, including passing exam scores and 
certification that you have completed the required ethics course, you will be sent a letter notifying you of 
your eligibility for licensure, and will be requested to submit the appropriate initial licensing fee.  Initial 
licenses are issued for a period of 6-17 months depending upon the issuing month of the license and the 
applicant’s birth month.  The fee is prorated at $8 per month and can range from $48 to $136.  Upon 
receipt of your fee, you should receive a license number in less than 2 weeks. 

‘ 14.	 After your initial license period, the license must be renewed every two years to remain current.  To 
continue to hold an Active license you must also complete15 hours of continuing education within the two 
year period prior to renewal. Your continuing education hours will be prorated the first time you renew 
your license. If you allow your license to expire, you will have 3 years from the expiration date to renew 
the license or the license becomes cancelled and cannot be renewed or reinstated. 

http:www.csrc.org
http:www.aarc.org
http:www.rcb.ca.gov


APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE FORM INSTRUCTIONS
 

1. Applicant Category 

“Examination Candidate” is an applicant who has not taken and passed the NBRC’s CRT examination. 

“NBRC Credentialed” is an applicant who has already taken and passed the NBRC’s CRT or RRT 
examination and holds a CRT or RRT credential. 

“Education Waiver Candidate” is an applicant who does not meet the current minimum education 
requirements, but qualifies for an education waiver based on a combination of prior licensure, 
education and/or work experience (for specific waiver criteria, please see California Code of 
Regulations section 1399.330). Supplemental information and forms will be sent to you upon receipt of 
your completed application. 

2. - 7. Personal Information 
Enter your personal information. All of the information is required except where noted.  Disclosure of 
your social security number is mandatory. 

8.	 Program Director Certification 
If you are applying based on an anticipated graduation, this section must be completed, signed and 
dated by your program director. Your program director must also emboss this section with the school’s 
seal. 

9.	 Completed Respiratory Education Program Information 
Enter the name of the institution where you completed or will complete your approved respiratory care 
program and the date you completed or will complete your program. 

10.	 Degree Information 
Enter the name of the institution (and other requested information) where you earned or will earn your 
degree(s). You are not required to list every school you ever attended, just those schools where you earned 
a degree. 

11.	 Aliases / aka 
If you have been known by any other name(s) than the one stated in number 2, please state all 
previous name(s) (including maiden name) and dates of use. 

12. - 16. Other Registrations, Certificates, and Licenses 
If you respond Yes to any question numbered 12 - 15, be sure to complete the chart in number 16. 

17.	 Driver License Numbers 
If you have ever been licensed to drive in the State of California or any other state, an ENTIRE driving 
history must be obtained from each state. These printouts must come directly from the Department of 
Motor Vehicles and be included with the application package when submitted to the Board.  Online 
driving histories obtained via the internet will not be accepted. 

18. - 26. Disciplinary, Criminal, Substance Abuse Questions 
Each and every one of these questions must be answered.  If you answered Yes to any of these 
questions, you must complete the “Background Statement” form.  You are not required to report minor 
traffic violations (i.e. speeding, run traffic stop, illegal parking, etc...) unless the violation was a 
misdemeanor or felony. Any other citation that was not a violation of the Vehicle Code must be 
reported. If in doubt, report the information to avoid perjuring your application. 



Penalty of Perjury Certification 
Each applicant must sign under penalty of perjury that all information contained within the application and 
documentation submitted are true and correct. 

Perjury or falsification by an applicant is 
automatic grounds for denial of the license. 

FINGERPRINT CLEARANCE REQUIREMENT
 
The Board requires each candidate for licensure to submit his or her fingerprints for state and federal 
processing. Applicants residing in California are required to use Live Scan, an electronic imaging process that 
doesn't require fingerprint cards, in order to comply with the criminal record check. Please complete the 
enclosed Live Scan form and take it to your local Police, Sheriff, or Department of Justice (DOJ) office in your 
area for processing. You are encouraged to contact the Live Scan agency directly to determine if an 
appointment is necessary and to confirm what method of payment is accepted at the particular facility.  You 
can view a listing of locations at: 

http://ag.ca.gov/fingerprints/publications/contact.pdf 

Problematic fingerprint imaging may result in delayed processing by either the DOJ or the Federal Bureau 
of Investigations (FBI). You should be notified of this fact within two weeks of the imaging date.  In the event 
Live Scan service is not available (i.e., out-of-state applicants), fingerprint cards can be requested by 
contacting the Board. Applicants residing out-of-state are required to submit 2 fingerprint cards, along with 
a $49 fingerprint processing fee. 

The Board must receive a clearance from the DOJ before any applicant is considered for an Applicant 
Work Permit. For out-of-state applicants, the Board must also receive a clearance from the FBI prior to 
the issuance of an Applicant Work Permit. The DOJ’s average processing time for Live Scan responses is 
1-2 weeks. 

MOST COMMON DEFICIENCIES
 
Your application will be delayed if any of the requested information or documentation is not submitted. The 
most common deficiencies are: 

* Failure to complete the “Application for Licensure” form and respond to each and every question. 
* Failure to submit the appropriate “H-6" California driver’s license history. 
* Failure to submit an appropriate and recent 2 x 2 photo. 
* Failure to complete and submit the “Statement of Understanding” form. 
* Failure to complete and submit the “Background Statement” form (if applicable). 
* Failure to submit all court and arrest records for each conviction (if applicable). 

APPLICATION COMPLETION TIMELINE
 
Applicants have one year from the time they file their initial application to complete the application process. 

ADDRESS CHANGES
 
Each person holding a license or any person with an application for licensure pending, shall file, in writing, with 
the Board his or her proper and current mailing address, and shall give written notice within 14 days, to the 
Board at its Sacramento office. Address changes are also taken through the Board’s website at 
www.rcb.ca.gov. 

http:www.rcb.ca.gov
http://ag.ca.gov/fingerprints/publications/contact.pdf


 

NOTICE ON COLLECTION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION
 
Collection and Use of Personal Information.  The Respiratory Care Board of the Department of Consumer 
Affairs collects the personal information requested on this form as authorized by Business and Professions 
Code Sections 30 and 3730. The Respiratory Care Board uses this information principally to identify and 
evaluate applicants for licensure, issue and renew licenses, and to enforce licensing standards set by law and 
regulation. 
Mandatory Submission.  Submission of the requested information is mandatory.  The Respiratory Care 
Board cannot consider your application for licensure or renewal unless you provide all of the requested 
information. 
Access to Personal Information. You may review the records maintained by the Respiratory Care Board 
that contain your personal information, as permitted by the Information Practices Act. See below for contact 
information. 
Possible Disclosure of Personal Information.  We make every effort to protect the personal information 
you provide us. The information you provide, however, may be disclosed in the following circumstances: 
•	 In response to a Public Records Act request (Government Code Section 6250 and following), as 

allowed by the Information Practices Act (Civil Code Section 1798 and following); 
•	 To another government agency as required by state or federal law; or 
• In response to a court or administrative order, a subpoena, or a search warrant. 
Contact Information.  For questions about this notice or access to your records, you may contact Respiratory 
Care Board, 444 North 3rd Street #270, Sacramento, CA 95814, (866) 375-0386 or email 
rcbinfo@dca.ca.gov. For questions about the Department of Consumer Affairs’ privacy policy or the 
Information Practices Act, you may contact the Office of Privacy Protection in the Department of Consumer 
Affairs, 400 R Street, Sacramento, CA 95814, (866) 785-9663 or email privacy@dca.ca.gov. 

DISCLOSURE OF SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
 
Disclosure of your social security number (SSN) is mandatory.  Section 30 of the Business and Professions 
Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 U.S.C.A. 405(c)(2)(C)) authorizes collection of your SSN.  Your SSN will be 
used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgement or order for 
family support in accordance with section 11350.6 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, or for verification of 
licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national examination and 
where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state.  If you fail to disclose your SSN, you will be reported 
to the Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a $100.00 penalty against you.  Further, the Respiratory Care 
Board is prohibited from processing any application without a SSN.  Therefore, if you do not disclose your 
SSN, you will not be permitted to take the examination or be issued a license to practice respiratory care in 
the State of California. 

REPORTING OF SUSPECTED INSTANCES OF CHILD ABUSE
 
Section 11166 of the Penal Code requires any child care custodian, medical practitioner, non medical 
practitioner, or employee of a child protective agency who has knowledge of or observes a child in his or her 
professional capacity or within the scope of his or her employment whom he or she knows or reasonably 
suspects has been the victim of child abuse to report the known or suspected instance of child abuse to a child 
protective agency immediately or as soon as practically possible by telephone and to prepare and send a 
written report thereof within 36 hours of receiving the information concerning the incident. 

"Health practitioner" includes physician and surgeons, psychiatrists, psychologists, dentists, residents, interns, 
podiatrists, chiropractors, licensed nurses, dental hygienists, or any other person who is licensed under Division 
2 (commencing with Section 500) of the Business and Professions Code.  RCP's are licensed under Division 2 
of the Business and Professions Code. 

mailto:privacy@dca.ca.gov
mailto:rcbinfo@dca.ca.gov

